1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

T-Mobile UK 2.2 Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by starbeam4, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. starbeam4

    starbeam4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi

    I'm new so be gentle please :) Apologies if this has already been asked (which i'm sure it has!)

    I have got a T-mobile branded Desire which is sim free (currently using a Vodafone sim) and I still on 2.1 update 1. When I check for updates i'm told my phone is up to date. Obviously i'd like to update to 2.2 (without rooting if possible)

    Baseband version: 32.30.00.28u_4.05.00.11
    Software number: 1.15.110.11

    Any help appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Unless T-Mobile have pulled the update you should just be able to check and it should find the 2.2 update

    There is another update needed prior to the 2.2 one, mind - 1.21.110.4 - so that might be the one now stopped by T-Mobile as the 1.15.110.11 is very old now
     
  3. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    A solution I saw posted over on the (decidedly dodgy) T-M forums was to set the date on your phone several months into the future and re-check.
    Or maybe it's because you have a Vodafone SIM but the phone is branded. Can you get your hands on a T-M SIM or get a PAYG one?
     
  4. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    SIM should be irrelevant as it's the phone checking the HTC server for an update. So long as there is one available for the FW version you're on it will download regardless of network
     
  5. starbeam4

    starbeam4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks for the suggestions. I've tried many times over the months since T-mobile released the update and always get the same no update available, frustrating when I know there is!!
     
  6. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Easy way to update - but it does involve losing all data - is to flash this RUU:

    RUU_Bravo_TMO_UK_1.21.110.4_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_127570_signed.exe

    RUU_Bravo_TMO_UK_1.21.110.4_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4.06.00.02_2_release_127570_signed.exe - 4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download

    And then download the OTA and flash it manually:

    OTA_Bravo_Froyo_TMO_UK_2.12.110.2-1.21.110.4_release3uop1mw9unpc376h.zip

    To manually flash the OTA:

    1. Download the file above
    2. Rename it update.zip (not update.zip.zip)
    3. Copy it to the root of your SD card
    4. Turn phone on whilst holding the volume down button
    5. Select 'Recovery' from the menu using the volume buttons and press power to select
    6. When at the screen with the red ! hold volume up and press power
    7. On the blue menu select 'apply SD:update.zip' and follow the instructions

    It should then install the OTA and boot back into 2.2
     
    starbeam4 likes this.
  7. starbeam4

    starbeam4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks! After a bit of figuring out I have managed to update to 2.2 finally!
     
  8. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Without using the RUU?
     
  9. starbeam4

    starbeam4 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    No I had to use RUU link u provided from 4shared.com (the first link didnt work)
     
  10. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    That's the issue with bloody uploads, half don't work!

    If you're thinking of rooting then bare in mind there isn't an RUU for the T-Mobile 2.2 FW
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...