1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Take a Screen Shot (no root)

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Pep, Sep 11, 2011.

  1. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    Is there noway to take a Screen Shot without rooting or using a pc?
    Have searched but no joy.

    Pep
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    There is a way using the Android SDK.

    This tutorial is not up to date but it should still work. ;)
     
  3. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
  4. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    Thanks but i want to take screen shots using the phone alone. (or am I not understanding how SDK works:eek:)

    Thanks but drocap2 is for rooted phones and you have to re-instal No Root Screen-Shot it every time you reboot the phone.

    Pep
     
  5. arnould

    arnould Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011

    I don't think there's any app that allows you to take screen shots without root... the only other way I know is by using DDMS from the Android SDK .

    Just download the android sdk and install it In the tools folder is ddms.bat, with your phone connected to your desktop double click it and you will get a screenshot.

    http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

    Java Programming
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,107
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,107
    4,770
    1,108
    Male
    If you have a Samsung Galaxy or HTC phone, some models of these already have it built in. For example, on a Galaxy phone, hold the back button and then press home.
     
  7. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    Actually there is. When I was fiddling around with launchers on my Intercept, I ran across one of them that had a screenshot option that actually worked on a non rooted phone. Normally this isn't possible on the Intercept without using the SDK method... but for the life of me I cannot remember which launcher app does this.
     
  8. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,087
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,087
    1,568
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    Sorry I totally misread your question. :eek: I am not aware of such a thing.
     
  9. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    Hehe All good:):)

    Thanks everyone, looks like it's time to look into rooting.

    Pep
     
  10. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    "No-root Screenshot It" works on everything except Honeycomb. The $5 kind of sucks. "Shootme" works on some un-rooted phones. It was free and a very good app. until they took it off the Market 2 months ago.
     
  11. Chuck O. Jones

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011

    Sep 4, 2011
    211
    11
    38
    I guess you don't have an .apk of it that you can post here, do you?
     
  12. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    I don't know but at the AM that's what it's called, "No-root Screenshot It" by Edward Kim. Hope this helps.:)
     
  13. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,876
    275
    163
    I use "Screen Shot It", which I'm not rooted, on my Atrix and it works great. Very simple and easy to use. Worth the money. (Forgot how much.)

    Screenshot for Android phones - YouTube
     
  14. Recoil1

    Recoil1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #273
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    172
    53
    53
    The newest update last month gave the EVO 3D the capability of taking a screen shot by holding the power button and pressing home.
     
    MarisaKaye likes this.
  15. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    I believe this doesn't work with an un-rooted HTC Desire HD.
    Can anyone confirm this as i'm not willing to pay for it if it doesn't work on my phone

    Thanks but this is the one that you have to re-install after every reboot.

    Pep
     
  16. goldz28

    goldz28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    I just tried screenshot on my Bionic and the pics come out messed up, I'll post one when I get home.
     
  17. MarisaKaye

    MarisaKaye Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I had done this accidently but now I know how to do it on purpose now! Thank you so much :p
     
  18. itsallgood

    itsallgood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,876
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    1,876
    275
    163
    If I remeber correctly, you get a free trial first before you have to buy.
     
  19. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    Yeah, you have 15 minutes to try it and still get a refund if it doesn't work. But I think it will work. Good luck.
     
  20. Pep

    Pep Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #208
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    494
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    494
    229
    68
    Qld, Australia
    There's a free trial on the market of Screen Shot It, and that did not work on the Desire HD.

    Pep
     

Share This Page

Loading...