1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Taking the plunge!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thenoble06, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    I'm going to take the plunge now, and I'm thinking of going with the Hero on T Mobile.

    My question is - since the G2/Hero doesn't use a snapdragon processor and runs around 600Mhz, is it quick enough now (and in the future) or is it laggy?

    I'm thinking I'll be having the phone for around 18months - so I would like to make sure the phone I choose now will still be able to run apps etc in 18months time and won't be really underpowered. I guess I'd rather wait a month and pick up a phone that will last than rush out and buy one now. However there is always something better on the horizion and you have to take the plunge eventually!

    Basically - should I be wary of buying a Android phone that doesn't have a Snapdragon processor is what I'm asking!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    LOL I totally agree with that :D

    The Hero will be able to still handle the updates I'm sure and ofcourse run apps etc so I would say you got nothing to worry about :)

    Enjoy your New Android!

    Carl
     
  3. thenoble06

    thenoble06 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009

    Sep 14, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    Yeah - I went with the Hero (Touch G2) and it came yesterday. Just upgraded the ROM to the latest one released my T Mobile and it seems so far to be just as I was expecting. I have 7 days to decide weather to keep it or not but I think I will.

    Now to root it - so I can start storing my apps on the SD Card! Oh - quick question on that - will rooting loosing the Sense UI?
     
  4. rizzla

    rizzla Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009

    Jul 18, 2009
    152
    4
    36
    London, UK
    Quick answer, No, sense will still be there. Rooting is a under the hood operation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...