1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Talk me out of CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by LittleRedDot, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    There are a few things about this ROM that I don't like, and I was wondering if a different ROM would better suite me. Since I'm so new to this I thought I would post my complaints on CM7 and let you all make a recommendation. Sorry if this topic has been done to death, but I can't get the forum search tool to work for me.

    1. Everytime I reboot, batt pull, or boot from recovery I have to re-set my ringtones, lockscreen, and a few others

    2. No contact specific ringtones / contact link to facebook

    3. I really miss the flip to speaker mode in sense. I spend a lot of time on hold and it was really convenient for me to just flip my phone on it's face to activate the speaker

    4.Boot time is soo long, like 7 minutes. I once timed my unrooted EVo at just over 2 minutes

    So If you can think of a ROM that addresses my specific complaints, please fel free to share!
     

    Advertisement

  2. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    1. That's not right. It should work just like any other rom (including stock) when you reboot your phone.

    2. You can link your contacts to facebook. When you load the facebook app, it should ask you if you want to sync to your contacts. If you missed this, you can open facebook and go to settings and switch your preference there. For any that it doesn't sync automatically, you should be able to long press on a contact's name, select "edit contact" and then press menu and select "join" and then join it to your fb contact. I thought I had figured out how to assign a specific ringtone to somebody, but I am not on a CM7 based ROM so I can't play around with it right now.

    3. Never used this one, so I guess this might be an AOSP limitation.

    4. After applying the Car-o-dope tweaks with Deck's aosp rom (based on CM7) with the Tiamat 3.3.7 kernel, I was shocked at how quickly my phone booted. Like 30 seconds or less probably. Now keep in mind that if you go and wipe dalvik, and then reboot, it's going to take a LOT longer to boot, because it has to rebuild that when the phone starts up. So if you're comparing a post dalvik wipe bootup to a bootup on a stock, unrooted phone, then you're comparing apples to oranges.

    And I will never talk anyone out of AOSP, besides youdoofus, I'm probably the biggest aosp fanboy around here. I'm currently cheating with some Sense based stuff now though. LOL.
     
    dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    one question i have is why are you rebooting the phone all the time? once you have everything setup you should not have to reboot the phone.

    well number might be able to fix with wiping dalvik cache and cache. i never had that issue with cm7

    and boot time is about normal. most roms out there will take about that long especially if you wipe dalvik cache and cache. it will also depend on the rom.

    also it will depend if you still want to try aosp vs sense. for sense you can get the flip mode for speaker. aosp will not have that.

    so i would try mikg3.0. you can also just make a nandroid backup and start flashing some roms. you can get most of them here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html. i put a poll so that you can see what the more popular roms are. main thing is read the op for that rom. checkout the changelog that is listed or linked in the op. also chack and see if there are specific instructions on how to flash the rom.
     
  4. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Yeah it seems most folks like mikg's sh*t.

    What about his newer version based off 3.5, didn't get as much love in your poll. I don't have very much time for flashing and hoping, are you telling me that I can get my sense options back if I choose a mikg ROM?

    Screw it, gonna flash and see.
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yes mikg is sense so it should have that option for speaker phone. it is very popular for a reason.

    mik is the bomb all of his roms are top notch. and as for any sense 3.5 roms 4g does not work so keep that in mind. i have not tried his sense 3.5 rom yet.
     
  6. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    To answer your question I'm rebooting a lot cause I'm still playing with different things in recovery, or CM7 has locked up, which has happened a few times.

    I wanna flash mikg3.0, but am a llittle unclear on how to if I already have a ROM. All the instructions seem to be from post root stock rom point, and I fear that it may be a little different for my case? If so please let me know the steps or link me to a better guide.
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    if you follow the guide it is the same process. just make a nandroid backup, wipe dalvik cache, cache, and data (others wipe everything except for sd card) then flash the vr superwipe and then flash the rom.

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html
     
    MusicJunkie likes this.
  8. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Since I get a crappy signal Sprint is sending me an airwave... But I'm still 100 miles away from any 4G coverage. Maybe the 3.5 would be a better option for me? Unless an airwave will give me 4G?
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    never heard of an airave working on 4g. i think that the signals are different so i do not think 4g will work for you with the airave.

    i would try out sense 3.5 if you have not. the mik supersonic 3d from what i hear is a great rom. try it out and let us know what you think.
     
  10. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Do I need to reflash the kernel after flashing the rom?
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    all roms have kernels include with the rom. most are stock or some roms have a kernel that the dev likes. if you were using a custom kernel with cm7 that kernel will not work on sense roms. kernels are rom type specific. if you are on an aosp rom then you need to flash an aosp kernel. if you are on sense then you need to flash a sense rom. also with sense the kernel needs to match the software version. if you are on a froyo rom then you need to flash the froyo kernels. if you are on a gingerbread rom then you need to flash a gingerbread kernel.

    right now for gingerbread, you can try these kernels:
    1.freedom
    2.chopsuey
    3.golden monkey
    4.poon sense(you need the kernel manager to get this)

    flash them after you flash a rom.
     
    LittleRedDot likes this.
  12. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Thanks! From your ecperience, which kernel performs best with 3.0?
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries.

    kernels are kind of hard to recommend to people because kernels will react differently on different phones. but i would start with the aggressive freedom and then work your way down the freedom kernel list. the main thing with kernels is that you need to give it a few days to let the kernel settle in before deciding to move on to a different kernel.

    you should also look into setcpu as well

    here are some reading for you:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/389360-kernels-dummies.html

    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/210253-setcpu-guide.html
     
  14. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Do I want to flash the nandroid backup I made before flashing the rom? I don't wanna spend hours setting up this new rom?
     
  15. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    and do I need to flash gapps with 3.0 or is it baked in?
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    not sure what you mean by that. either way you will still need to do a full wipe before you flash the rom. so restoring back to a previous nandroid backup will not change the fact that you will have to wipe data before flashing the rom. i would use titanium backup to backup your apps and its data. the more you flash the faster you will get as far as setting up the rom how you like it.
     
  17. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Gapps is for AOSP ROMS only.

    MikG3.0 (if that is what you were referring to) is a sense-based ROM and therefore GAPPS is not needed
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  18. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    Crapola, I flashed GAPPS. And I'm getting FCs and also everytime it boots it opens first Tango, then calculator, then micmic website all on it's own?

    Can I unflash gapps?

    There's an option to significantly reduce boot time, which I'm definitely interested in, but a re-flash is required. Could I tie the two together? The un-flash of GAPPS and the re-flash of 3.0?
     
  19. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    Talk you outta cm7..... uhm... NO!!! CM7 IZ DA SHIZZO!!!!
     
  20. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak

    Do not "unflash gapps" go into recovery, wipe the cache and dalvik, reinstall your CM7 build, then gapps (and the custom kernel, if you feel so inclined to run one of those) and reboot. Should be good from there
     
  21. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    While I myself like CM7... If you want someone to talk you out of it - search this sub-forum for the 'Death Boot' or whatever we're calling it now.... basically, a software brick that seems to be correlated to using CM7 roms. Interesting to say the least. No one has a solution - yet. (<-- my daily optimism ;))
     
    mikem0269 likes this.
  22. Team420

    Team420 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    126
    61
    53
    Maine, USA
    Here are my 2 favorite roms....

    Sense xplod

    [ROM] Nocturnal Xplod XE E4G Android 2.3.4 Sony Bravia Engine! - xda-developers
    This one is snappy!! Its kinda a sense/aosp combo, sense based tho, so got all the bling, I had a few issues initially, but they worked themselves out, battery life is excellent(for a sense rom), theres almost no lag (like almost every aosp rom i tried did have) and IMHO, its just the best looking.

    AOSP xplod

    [ROM] Team Nocturnals Xplod E4G RLS (11/15/2011) - xda-developers

    I ran the aosp xplod for about a month and a half, it does have an occasional hiccup, but in my expreience, its just more stable than cm7... add tiamat 3.3.7 and I got best battery life ever from my e4g.

    The only thing I will say about these, it takes a lil while to get them set up, but other than that, they are my favorites :D
     
    LittleRedDot likes this.
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    This one should be getting an update soon ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...