1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Task Killer

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by fhsfish, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. fhsfish

    fhsfish Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    35
    2
    16
    hey
    i'm currently running task manager by rhythm software and before that was running atk. i was messing with some settings in atk and somehow got it to show system apps on the list of apps to kill. i unchecked these, as i knew it would be bad to kill them, but then when i killed apps as usual, my phone hung and showed the loading screen on home like it does on boot. hoping to eliminate the problem, i switched to task manager. now it does the same thing...does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this. i know it wasn't doing it before i decided to mess with the settings, and would just like to get it back to normal.

    any help is appreciated,
    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. jwm2

    jwm2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,109
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    1,109
    270
    163
    Sterling, IL
    Remove the task managers and reboot the phone. You don't need a task manager at all, period, end of story. Don't use them at all, ever.
     
  3. Dorito

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    72
    7
    16
    Just reinstall the task killer app. You need it for when your phone gets low on memory. Without the task killer app once the phone gets low on memory Android has to constantly reallocate memory which causes lag.
     
  4. fhsfish

    fhsfish Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    35
    2
    16
    That may be possible, but i wonder, how will that affect my battery life. I use my phone heavily throughout the day and my battery is usually fairly low by the time i am able to charge it again
     
  5. rmartin27

    rmartin27 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    63
    1
    16
    Paralegal..Attorney to be. University of Toledo La
    Ohio
    Get rid of the "Task Killer" and download Spare Parts from the market and use the process manager inside of that app. I recommend using the Normal setting. Oh and if u set all transitions to off it really speeds up the phone. Hope this helps
     
  6. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    What you need to do is check out the thread regarding battery saving tips. Most new people on here benefit greatly from it since most of the veteran members gradually found these things out and shared them with us. That should help your battery out a bit.

    As for a task killer, I use ATK. What I would suggest you do is get it, add the widget to your home screen and use it only when the phone is absolutely lagging. Some programs also like to hang, like Pandora, those sports apps like MLB At Bat, and some games. ATK comes in handy for those since they continue to drain battery.

    Set ATK to kill itself whenever you hit the widget. It's a one-click end-all. It doesn't matter what apps you close. I found that if you end a process that causes the phone to go to the HTC screen again, it's like restarting the phone and you walk away with over 100MB of free RAM.

    Try those and let us know.
     
  7. Dorito

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    72
    7
    16
    Spare Parts can not resolve the root cause of lag when memory get low. Only Task kill apps can resolve the lag from memory reallocation processes by force closing unused apps that are loaded into RAM.

    I use the original "task killer" apps which has a feature to create an Ignore list and close all other programs by simply pressing the End Call button on the phone. It works great and I instantly free around 60mb every time.
     
  8. jwm2

    jwm2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,109
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    1,109
    270
    163
    Sterling, IL
    Try using the phone for a few days with no task killer installed, if you like the results keep it that way abit longer. If you find that everything lags and you really feel the need to have the task killer then go ahead and reinstall it. I think most people install them because of the advice of others and not due to having a need for one. I think you'll find that your phone will run just as good or better than running a task manager and you'll have one less program to fiddle with everytime you close an app. I found i spent more time closing apps than using them which is not what google had in mind when creating the os.
     
  9. ruffneck104

    ruffneck104 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    I went without ATK for a few weeks. I found I needed it and reinstalled it. To each their own, but I think it's necessary.
     
  10. bjf88

    bjf88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    384
    37
    43
    And I've haven't used one for 4+ months with great results. I use the back button to exit apps and use Dolphin browser so I can actually exit and clear cache at the same time.

    If you really think you "must have" a task killer, maybe you either: 1) have a phone that isn't working properly or 2) need to examine how you are using the phone that you "need" to be killing apps to make it run properly.

    Just my 0.02.
     
  11. Blizzard

    Blizzard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    185
    3
    36
    I use ATK just to see what is running and also to close an App. that won't close at all, usually Pandora. Otherwise, I let the OS close things on its own.
     
  12. Eris_2.1_2010

    Eris_2.1_2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    186
    5
    56
    Truck Driver
    West Plains, MO
    I'm curious I have 2.1 leak v2 and there always seems to be apps running like stocks etc. My question is I leave those running will that kill the battery faster?
     
  13. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Fwiw, Pandora has a quit option if you hit the menu button before closing.



    There are mixed views on this. Some swear that they get better battery life by killing those apps and others find that constantly trying to kill them actually kills their battery faster. Most of the apps you are talking about tend to get restarted by the system at some point anyway so I would tend to agree that it will cost you more battery life than it will save, but ymmv.

    Unlike newsradio....sorry, I mean dorito, I don't think a task killer is a requirement on the phone. If your phone is functioning alright then there isn't a need to mess with it. If you are having trouble then it is better to figure out what the problem is.
     
  14. Dorito

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    72
    7
    16
    The issues have already been discussed and proven. Most people will need task killer apps simply because apps dont get removed from system memory on thier own. Once enough apps get pilled into memory and you get down to around 30mb your phone begins to lag greatly due to memory reallocation processes which take time. This time is the lag we all feel. Task killer apps are the only way to resolve this (or rebooting your phone but that takes forever)
     
  15. Eris_2.1_2010

    Eris_2.1_2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    186
    5
    56
    Truck Driver
    West Plains, MO
    One way I found to kill some of those apps without requiring my full attention is to have atk pro which has auto-kill which is nice. But I havnt figured what the safe crazy and aggressive modes do under auto-kill settings.
     
  16. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Sorry you still have problems with this, but you have proven nothing. While you may like using a task killer, nothing has ever been shown that proves there is a need for them on other people's phones. I really wish you would stop making these declarations. If you like using one fine (You already said that you sold your Eris, still don't even know why you are here), but not everyone out there needs one. There are plenty of people that don't use them and have no problems with their phones. I don't have one and I don't have any lag. Plenty of people have removed them and seen their phones performance improve. This actually proves that they are not a requirement.

    As I have said before and have repeated throughout this silly debate, if you like using one fine, but don't go around telling people they are required when they are not. The simple fact that anyone can use their phone without one proves you wrong every time.
     
  17. nothreat

    nothreat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    17
    2
    36
    self employed..oh yea
    Georgia
    +1 i have tried task killers.. but since 2.1 a few things come right back on...i spent more time killin tasks just out of habit.. Went few weeks without one.. no major difference.. imo...i dont feel task killer is a hell bent must have..
     
  18. morganpants

    morganpants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    117
    13
    38
    Panama City FL
    does that include 1.5 since 2.1 allocates memory better? or is it still best to just go with no task killer on 1.5?
     
  19. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    Since we are both running different apps and doing different things with our phones what you need is entirely up to you. I never had one on 1.5 and I didn't have any problems, but I'm not going to tell you that you have to have one or that you can't have one. If you are having problems then it may be something you want to look into. Although, I would suggest trying to determine what the problem is before you load one and start killing things. I always equate the way that many people use task killers to someone who has trash piled up in their home. They install a task killer to find a better way to sort through their garbage instead of just getting rid of it in the first place. One of the reasons that I have never needed a killer is that I uninstall apps when I realize they are going to be a problem. If you find that you are having a problem and the app in question is something you need then a task killer may be your best option. If you are going to use one, take a look at System Panel (systempanel in the market). Nice app, written by a member here and has a different approach than some of the others.
     
  20. morganpants

    morganpants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    117
    13
    38
    Panama City FL
    can you recommend a Cache removal app?
     
  21. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    There is only one that I have heard of that works without root.

    Quick App Clean Cache - Android app on AppBrain

    I haven't used it though. I don't think it is available for people running the 2.1 leak.
     
  22. morganpants

    morganpants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    117
    13
    38
    Panama City FL
    lame :( then i'll just have to manually delete cache until a leak version is available.

    thanks OTD :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...