1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tasker for scheduled browser refresh unpredictable

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Nerdgirllondon88, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. Nerdgirllondon88

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016

    Apr 3, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    So I created a profile with a task to open a specific website on a regular basis.

    The reason being is I want to stay logged into a website profile th a times out after 20 minutes.

    I have added a 'write file' task which adds the day and time to a text file every time performs this task so I can check it is performing. Which seems to works well.

    Problem is it appears sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't .. for example it works for a while then stops. Then I test it and it works fine for a while then stops again.

    I used the profile "time" , and put it as repeating every 15 mins. All day. Then added the task.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,896
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,896
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

    How long is "a while"?
    When setting the condition ... does it have only repeat specified with no start or end time?

    ... Thom
     
  3. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,896
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,896
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I have run this one for the last three hours and a half with no problem ...

    Profile: _test
    Time: Every 2m
    Enter: Anon
    A1: Flash [ Text:-- %TIME -- Long:On ]

    ... Thom
     
    #3 Thom, Apr 3, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  4. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,062
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,062
    1,021
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    If you are on marshmallow, go to android settings and exclude tasker from "battery optimisation" (doze)
     
    Thom likes this.
  5. Nerdgirllondon88

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016

    Apr 3, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Thanks for your replies. Just to answer some of your questions. I'm on kitkat not marshmallow. The profile works for about 2 hours then stops.

    Profile: Launch url repeat
    Time: Every 15m
    Enter: Lauch Url
    A1: Launch App [ App:Chrome Data:http://www.(website).com/Android/
     
  6. Nerdgirllondon88

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016

    Apr 3, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    I think it does have something to do with the phone dozing off, but there is no way to change power settings.

    I have used macrodroid to schedule the phone to stay awake continuously, but doesn't seem to work indefinatey. Plus I thought with Android the system can force tasks to override sleep? That is partly why tasker works better than anything is ios because ios can't do that.
     
  7. electricpete

    electricpete Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    2,062
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    2,062
    1,021
    393
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    Are you on marshmallow (Android 6.0+)? If yes, then it is in the system settings somewhere. For me (nexus 6 running 6.0.1), it is: apps /gear-icon / battery optimization

    Also (regardless of android versions) there are a few settings within tasker itself that help prevent it from getting killed on low memory (mostly for older phones...although I had problems with tasker getting killed on my S4 running lollipop.... confirmed it in the event log "restart monitor service"). In tasker menu look at Preferences....select monitor tab...then look at outings for "run in foreground", "notification icon" and "reliable alarms" (press the ? for more info about these options)
     
    #7 electricpete, Apr 4, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016

Share This Page

Loading...