1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tasker help please!

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Stixor, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Could anyone tell me how to set up Tasker?

    All I want to do is turn off Mobile network/3G when the screen is off and back on again when the screen is on?

    I have been searching for the past 3 days and people say they have done it but never explain how to set up the commands.

    Thanks!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    Here are the steps:


    1. Click the plus sign
    2. For New Profile Name type
      Code (Text):
      1. Screen On Data On
    3. Click the check box
    4. Select Event
    5. Select Display
    6. Select Display On
    7. Click the check box
    8. Click New Task
    9. Type
      Code (Text):
      1. Data On
    10. Click the check box
    11. Click the plus sign
    12. Click Net
    13. Click Mobile Data
    14. Under Set, select On
    15. Click the check box
    16. Click the check box
    17. Click the plus sign
    18. For New Profile Name type
      Code (Text):
      1. Screen Off Data Off
    19. Click the check box
    20. Select Event
    21. Select Display
    22. Select Display Off
    23. Click the check box
    24. Click New Task
    25. Type
      Code (Text):
      1. Data Off
    26. Click the check box
    27. Click the plus sign
    28. Click Net
    29. Click Mobile Data
    30. Under Set, select Off
    31. Click the check box
    32. Click the check box
    33. Click the check box

    That's it.
     
    alostpacket likes this.
  3. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Thanks for the reply, I have done all this and hit the apply button but tasker says there are no active profiles.

    Is there something I have missed?

    Thanks.
     
  4. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    No, you haven't missed anything. Active profiles are ones that in use at that very moment. Since these task profiles are triggered by events and not constantly running conditions, you'll never see them "active" even when they are working.

    If it is working, though, you should see, after you turn the screen on, that there are signal bars but no indicator of what kind of data (Edge, 3G, 4G, etc.) for one or two seconds before the indicator comes back. That's because after you turn data back on, it takes a little while for it to take effect.
     
  5. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Sorry, pretty sure it's not working, don't know what I have done wrong.

    I tried changing it to turn on when screen is unlocked and 3G is still on when I turn the screen on before I unlock it so I don't know.
     
  6. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    Can you edit the tasks and add in a notification for "This worked (recognized screen turned on)" and "This worked (recognized screen turned off)" so you know the triggers are at least work, even if the results aren't?

    Also, what kind of phone do you have? I've read some hints that Mobile Data may not work on CDMA phones.
     
  7. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    I have a HTC Desire HD.

    It might be just easier if I just turn it on and off manually. Just thought it would be cool if it was automatic.
     
  8. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
  9. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Yeah, I had problems with that too. It was great for like an hour or two then it stopped turning the 3G back on when the screen was on.

    Very frustrating.
     
  10. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    Open the edit screen for your task. In the lower right corner you will see a button with a blue arrow (play button). You can test your profile with this button. Press it and you should see your data turn off.
     
  11. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Nah, it doesn't turn off, I give up.
     
  12. genuser

    genuser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    180
    21
    38
    I just did it on my EVO3D, working fine.

    Directions above are spot on.

    I just did the off part to test. Export to clipboard below.
    Profile: Anon (14)
    Event: Display Off
    Enter: Anon (15)
    A1: Mobile Data [Set:Off]

    What kind of phone do you have? CDMA? GSM? Export your profile to clipboard and post it.
     
  13. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    If it doesn't work in Juice Defender or Tasker, sounds like something is wrong with your phone. Do you have a Task Killer app installed? If not, would you consider doing a factory reset?
     
  14. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    I have advanced task killer installed but I don't use it.
     
  15. Stixor

    Stixor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    This is what I have set up:

    Profile: Screen On Data On (2)
    Event: Display Unlocked
    Enter: Data On (3)
    A1: Mobile Data [ Set:On ]

    Profile: Screen Off Data Off (4)
    Event: Display Off
    Enter: Data Off (5)
    A1: Mobile Data [ Set:Off ]
     
  16. casinomegamall

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Thanks for the pretty cool help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...