1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tasker profiles no longer sending emails

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Vernon27, Aug 22, 2017.

  1. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    Hello Everyone,

    Background:

    Samsung Galaxy S8+ running Android version 7.0
    Tasker version: 5.0u4M
    Mail apps: MailTask and SendSilent

    Problem: I have two Tasker Profiles; one emails the battery logs and another emails a copy of the the Tasker backup file: backup.xml. Before I transitioned to the Samsung Galaxy S8+ I was using the Note 3; the Profiles worked great on the Note 3 now they are not working on the S8+.

    Does anyone have issues sending email using Taker regardless of which email plugin your using. I have contacted the developer of MailTask and he/she was unable to figure out why the app is not working; the developer of SendSilentMail does not reply to requests for assistance. Even when I execute the profile manually Tasker still does not send the email via either mail plugin.

    Any help/suggestions will be helpful.

    Regards,

    Vernon
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    What system version and what Tasker version were you using on the Note 3?

    ... Thom
     
  3. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    I was running Kit Kat 5.0; do not recall what version of Tasker in was running on the Note 3.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Reverting to Tasker 4.9u4m might be a good exercise to try. There are problems with 5.0 that are still being worked out.

    There is a corresponding version of App Factory for Tasker 4.9u4. The same apk works for 4.9u4m and 4.9u4.

    ... Thom
     
    #4 Thom, Aug 23, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2017
  5. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    Hello Tom,

    Thanks for the information. I'll give it a whirl.
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Make sure to backup in Tasker first. You then have to totally remove it and install the lower version.

    I have Tasker and App Factory 4.9 running on one device because there is a problem with a created app being authorized to dim the screen. Works in 4.9. Doesn't work in 5.0.

    .. Thom
     
  7. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    I reverted back to an older version and it still having the same issue.
     
  8. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    I installed App Factory, however when I tried to export the Profile to an app the option to export to an app is not available. Did i miss a step somewhere?
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Did you reload Tasker? Did you reboot the system?

    ... Thom
     
  10. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    I uninstalled the older version of Tasker; deleted the Tasker folder then shut down the device. Once the device was rebooted I re-installed Tasker; when I tried to install Tasker App Factory it appears to have already been installed. Then I reloaded the backup.xml file and then tried to export the Profile in question and the option to export to App is not present. I hope to goodness it was not disabled by Android or VZW.

    Just to recap:

    Samsung Galaxy S8+ (SM-G955U) on the VZW network running Andorid 7.0
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    You needed to uninstall app factory and then uninstall Tasker. It is a little strange because app factory does not have an icon in the app drawer. You have to use Settings/Apps to uninstall iut.

    Backup A
    Uninstall App Factory
    Uninstall Tasker
    Delete Tasker folder
    Install Tasker
    Install App Factory
    Backup B (dummy glitch reported and not yet fixed)
    Restore A

    ... Thom
     
    #11 Thom, Aug 25, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2017
    sweetndreemy73 likes this.
  12. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    Hello Tom,

    I followed the steps above and still having the same issue. This odd; why is the option not available.
     
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Since it fails on the old version of Tasker doesn't that show that the problem is not caused by the Tasker upgrade?

    Whatever you are using to send the e-mail (not Tasker) would seem to be the problem.

    I don't send e-mail with Tasker so I don't know what to suggest A different plug-in. Contact the plug-in author with the new information?.

    ... Thom
     
  14. Vernon27

    Vernon27 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #586
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012

    Nov 26, 2012
    66
    4
    16
    I Installed the same version on my old Note 3 and it worked. In fact, I upgraded to Tasker 5.0 and it worked on my my old Note 3.  I am now beginning to think it's the Android OS version
     

Share This Page

Loading...