1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tasker wifi at home profile...

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by oOMavrikOo, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    If I wanted to setup a wifi on @ home profile, would I need to purchase Locale too?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Stupifier

    Stupifier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    392
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    392
    46
    43
    No. Just use WiFi Near as your context in Tasker. Whenever you are near your home's WiFi, your Home tasks will trigger. In reality, you should actually never have to Purchase Locale if you have Tasker. Only thing you may do is get the occasional random Locale plug-in scattered around the market (they are all usually free). Those locale plug-ins are compatible with Tasker and some are very useful (for example Autoshortcut, VERY useful Plugin for Tasker).
     
    oOMavrikOo likes this.
  3. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Are you trying to make a profile that turns your wifi on when at home? Or just a profile that triggers other axions when you are connected to your home wifi?
     
  4. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I would like wifi to turn on automatically at home and another location, plus unlock disable the lock screen, but only when at home. I currently use two other apps to achieve this and both are very unreliable.
     
  5. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,322
    483
    163
    Central NJ
    I have two profiles I use to control Wifi:

    Profile: Wifi Scan
    Context: Wifi Near <no parameters> Toggle Wifi: Yes
    Enter Task:
    Stop

    Profile: Wifi Connected
    Context: Wifi Connected <no parameters>
    Enter Task:
    Wifi On
    Exit Task:
    Wait 30 seconds
    Wifi Off


    The advantages of this approach are:

    1. I have a single profile I need to disable if I want to temporarily stop Wifi scanning (I have a home screen widget that toggles it on/off)
    2. The phone will connect to any known Wifi when in range
    3. Wifi will be turned off 30 seconds after disconnecting, unless another Wifi connection has been established in the meantime

    The single disadvantage that I'm aware of is if I connect to an open Wifi that requires some sort of acceptance of terms or a login, I have to remember to "forget" that network, otherwise I'll unknowingly connect to it again sometime and lose my Internet connection until I accept the terms or login.
     
  6. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    I use a solution similar to UncleMike

    I have a task called Wifi
    -Variable set: %MYWIFI to 1

    I have a profile called Connected
    Wifi connected -> task Wifi


    Then in my car profile in my exit task I have the following tasks:
    1. Profile Status -> Connected - set to On
    2. Wifi set to On
    3. Wait 5 min
    4. Wifi set to Off if %MYWIFI != 1
    5. Profile Status -> Connected - set to Off
    6. Variable set %MYWIFI to 0



    By doing this when I get out of my car Wifi is turned on for 5 minutes to see if I am near my home (or any other remembered network) and if I am Wifi remains on, if not Wifi is turned off.
     
  7. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    How do I choose the timer for disconnected wifi? Also, is there a way to incorporate the app "No Lock" into the profile to disable the lock screen when connected to me home wifi?
     
  8. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,322
    483
    163
    Central NJ
    The "Wait 30 seconds" is what causes the delay in turning off Wifi, so you could change that to whatever you want. I'm not familiar with No Lock, so I can't be of any help with that.
     
  9. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I'm confused about how to set the timer though. Do I just call the task "Wait 30 seconds" and Tasker will recognize it?
     
  10. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,322
    483
    163
    Central NJ
    The exit task of the profile consists of two actions. The first is a "Wait" action, the second is a "Wifi" action.
     
    oOMavrikOo likes this.
  11. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Is the wifi action under "Wifi Net"?

    Sorry if I'm missing something. I'm a big Tasker newb.
     
  12. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,322
    483
    163
    Central NJ
    There's a separate action "Wifi", also under the Net category.
     
  13. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
  14. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Is is possible to use a location based profile without GPS? My Wifi doesn't turn on automatically when I'm at home unless I have GPS on too. I've actually left GPS and Wifi off, but the Tasker profile on over night just to see if I had to let the network catch up with my position, but it never worked. But as soon as I turned on GPS, Wifi turned on. How do I fix this?
     
  15. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,322
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,322
    483
    163
    Central NJ
    You'll probably need to specify a larger radius for your area. If the accuracy of your location fix is larger than the radius of your area Tasker will never activate the profile.
     
  16. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    It's showing my location (wireless only) being about 5 miles away. Do I really need to make it tat big? Could my phone not be fixing my position correctly?
     
  17. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    919
    255
    123
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC

    Why not just leave GPS on? A lot of folks think that leaving GPS on drains the battery, but it doesn't. "GPS ON" only makes the GPS available for use it something calls for it. I did a personal, very unscientific, test on this a while back. I went for a week with GPS on and took the phone off the charger at 6:00 am and let it go until it died. I tried to use the phone as I normally would. My battery would die between 11 and Midnight. I then did the same thing with GPS off for a week. My battery died between 11 and Midnight that week also. I waited about two weeks an repeated the test with the same results.

    I don't use Tasker, but instead use Setting Profiles. I had much better (quicker) results with location based rules with GPS on than I did with it off. Sometimes I would be home (or at work) 30 minutes before my rule would fire to turn WiFi on without the GPS turned on. With GPS turned on, WiFi would be up and connected before I got into the house or office.

    This is just FWIF,
    BigRedGonzo
     
  18. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I also always thought leaving it on would drain my battery. I'll see how it goes with GPS always on. I did that yesterday and kept noticing the icon popping up when I wasn't even using anything GPS related. I assumed it was constantly trying to fix my location to keep the Tasker profile running, which forces me to think it's draining the battery more.
     
  19. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Make sure you are logged out of latitude. That updates your location in the background
     
  20. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    There isn't a logout option. If there is, I can't find it.

    Edit: I had GPS on for about 20 minutes and my battery dropped almost 10%. The icon kept popping up so something must be constantly updating in the background. I turned GPS off and the battery drain stopped.
     
  21. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Sorry, there used to be a log out option.

    Now you go to settings -> location settings -> location reporting -> select do not update your location. Then it will not automatically update your location and drain your battery
     
  22. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    Is this option in Latitude or just regular desktop settings? I can't find it in either. I have a Droid RAZR if that helps.
     
  23. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,727
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,727
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    It is in Lattitude
     
  24. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    OK I understand now. I've never activated Latitude's sharing features, so there's no option to turn that off right now. I think there's something else poling for my location. Whenever I have time to go though all my apps, I try and find out which one might be the culprit.
     
  25. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    836
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    836
    60
    78
    I think I've found the app. I sparingly use Skyvi and it has a beacon service. Since clearing the app's data and turning the beacon off, I've turned GPS on and haven't had the same battery drain from before and the icon isn't popping up randomly in the notification bar. I hope this sticks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...