1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tasker wifi/mobile data

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Smcvail, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. Smcvail

    Smcvail Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Timber Framer
    Missoula, Montana
    HI Guys,
    Just learning how to use Tasker. Searching the internet to get whatever help I can find. One thing I am not seeing that I really want to do is:

    When I open the browser (turn wifi on). (I know how to do this)

    If wifi is not available ask if I want to turn on mobile data (This is what I can't figure out)

    If anyone has some suggestions I would love to hear them. Or if someone knows whether or not this is even possible please let me know.

    Thanks,
    Sean
     

    Advertisement

  2. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    I'm guessing that you normally have Mobile Data off. Try this:

    Profile: Browser Wifi
    Context: Application [ Browser ]
    Enter Task:
    Wifi On
    Wait 30 seconds
    Perform Task [ Mobile Data Prompt ] If %WIFII Doesn't Match *CONNECTION*
    Exit Task:
    Wifi Off
    Mobile Data Off

    Task: Mobile Data Prompt [ type:Menu ]
    Mobile Data On [ label:Turn on Mobile Data ]
    Stop [ label:Cancel ]
     
  3. Smcvail

    Smcvail Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Timber Framer
    Missoula, Montana
    I managed to figure out the first part of you directions but I am having trouble getting this part:

    Task: Mobile Data Prompt [ type:Menu ]
    Mobile Data On [ label:Turn on Mobile Data ]
    Stop [ label:Cancel ]

    Any chance you could give me a more step by step instructions.
    Sorry to be such a noob. I am usually stubborn enough to find my way through this kind of thing but I just don't seem to know enough to get it worked out.

    Thanks
    Sean
     
  4. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    You need to create what's called a "menu task" - it only does the ONE thing you pick from the list. To do this, when you're creating your task, at the task edit screen, tap the wrench icon near the bottom to open the task properties dialog, and set the task type to 'Menu'.

    When you use the Perform Task action in the profile, it will cause a menu to appear, with whatever labels you specified in the task. Select the first one and it will turn on Mobile Data; select the second one and it will to do nothing. This essentially gives you a yes/no option to turn on Mobile Data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...