1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General telenav... horrible

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NewShockerGuy, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    IT
    So I was all excited about telenav because it looked just like sprints navigation.

    Clicked on it and it wants to charge me for it..lol

    Unreal.

    I pretty much deleted it and then found the sprint navigation APK and installed it. Works great just like it did on my hero.

    Some might think it's a horrible gps app but I actually kinda prefer it over googles for some reason.

    Not sure why they are trying to charge for it though. My plan has navigation ...oh well.

    -Nigel
     

    Advertisement

  2. jfenton

    jfenton Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    They only try and charge you for the PREMIUM version. Standard one is no charge as it always has been.

    So....this makes it horrible?
     
    BenChase7 likes this.
  3. Sycobob

    Sycobob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011

    Aug 7, 2011
    113
    22
    38
    Physicist
    Tallahassee, FL
    Google Navigation FTW
     
    Damar1979 likes this.
  4. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    I use TeleNav all the time... its works great and has never failed me and, indeed, TeleNav is Free. When you start the app you have 2 choices.. click the free one... you wont notice the difference.
     
  5. Exit24

    Exit24 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    94
    15
    18
    I find it annoying too. The $10 add-on to your Sprint plan includes telenav... why would I want to pay another 5 bucks for "premium?" I'm already paying for it. At least in the previous version it only asked you once when the program started up if you wanted to upgrade or not. The new version has a big button on the bottom of the screen, and 1 of the 4 main options is "learn about premium."

    It's like if you were pumping regular gas into you car, but the whole time you were pumping the gas the attendant was bugging you to upgrade to premium gas instead... every time you pump gas, forever.
     
  6. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    104
    2
    36
    IT

    Didn't even have this as an option. As soon as I clicked it it said, Monthly subsription, try it per day, or Cancel. That was it.

    -Nigel
     
  7. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    humm... I've used TeleNav three times since i got the phone on Friday. on the first open, i clicked "free version".. and its been working great since. Works great.
     
  8. johnkim575

    johnkim575 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    google maps/navigation is awesome. No need for others. I've been so happy with google maps, I have not need/want to check out other navigation. I even removed telenave from my apps.
     
  9. NSXLA

    NSXLA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    247
    51
    53
    Los Angeles
    I prefer telenav and yes its free, I like how it will periodically check traffic while driving =]
     
  10. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    I've used TeleNav numerous times, including today... it worked like a Champ. I think its pretty damn good, actually (and, yes, it is free).
     
  11. incomeraise

    incomeraise Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Please help I try to use telenav but everytime I try to use it I get a map instead that doesn't show me where the car is...or show the car moving...just a map
    Any idea what to do to get a turn by turn directions like a real GPS...am so lost..
    Help please
     
  12. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    sounds like your gps is off... make sure your gps is on in the notification bar
     
  13. LxMxFxD

    LxMxFxD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    256
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    256
    42
    43
    I'm glad you've had good luck with it but... after google couldn't find my hotel last month when I was in arlington tx, I'll never use it again. I realize google nav is free so I can't really complain, but seriously.. I will never use it again.
     
  14. unplugged1

    unplugged1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    611
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    611
    228
    93
    Irvine, CA
    We all make mistakes. (I can just imagine Android standing there with a tear flowing from it's eye. "Please. Give me another chance....")
     
  15. JackG058

    JackG058 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    200
    42
    43
    I've had several phone models since the app name was changed to the service it actually uses, and I've always had the two options, free and premium. And I love TeleNav. Works really well for me.
     
    BenChase7 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...