1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Tell if GPS hardware is borked?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by graxspoo, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. graxspoo

    graxspoo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi all, I just got a Triumph, and the GPS isn't working. I've read about all the problems with GPS on this thing, and I've tried some of the fixes, but no luck so far. I'm currently running CM7 7.2 rc1 - g60 style-final.

    The symptoms are, Navigation in Maps just sits there saying "Searching for GPS." If I run GPS Test, it can find two satellites, but the S/N ratio never gets above 25% or so.

    I have two questions: 1) Is there a way I can tell if this is just par-for-the-course Triumph GPS flakiness, or if my hardware is broken (I just got it, so if the hardware's bad I could send it back).
    2) What are people's favorite fixes for the ROM I'm running? (I thought this ROM was already supposed to help GPS issues, so, I haven't applied any GPS fixes after wiping and installing.)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Izzard

    Izzard Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    185
    56
    53
    It's not your hardware. Sharp ROM proved it, if you flash it you will see how fast GPS can be.
    On another had, you can flash latest CM7 (gps is fixed), you will be happy.
     
    graxspoo likes this.
  3. graxspoo

    graxspoo Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012

    Aug 7, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I am running the latest CM7, but I was still getting no GPS love. However, there was an additional GPS library that I flashed which seemed to help. Finally, I needed to go outside. I was testing from my office, which is on the top floor so I thought it would be OK. Once outside it locked up fairly quickly and showed my location within 20 feet or so. Not bad! Thanks for the comments.
     
  4. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Almost all of the Triumphs issues can be traced to poorly written even arcane software. Even the green blob issue is caused by a completely borked auto white balance routine.
     
  5. tonestertm

    tonestertm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011

    Jul 22, 2011
    22
    5
    16
    LaLa Land
    Glad you got some success (which may or may not stick--give it some time) but just FYI, you're not running the latest CM7. That can be found here: MTDEV.us
     

Share This Page

Loading...