1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Tell us if you got your ICS update and how do you like it?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xmr405o, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    Cool. If it works for you can you show coned miro how to unbrick? He just made a new thread for support and i gotta head out real quick.
     

    Advertisement

    coned_miro likes this.
  2. xxwhynotxx

    xxwhynotxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    272
    3
    36
    You missed the last post on the last page, airtioteclint
     
  3. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    Downloaded the cab again, and I think I've gotten past the extract error. Seeing if it will go through now.
     
  4. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
  5. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    Got it working and I'm back in business. Think I'll swap out the phone still if they send me a brand new one. ;) Thanks for all your help. I posted my steps in the other thread.
     
  6. xxwhynotxx

    xxwhynotxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    272
    3
    36
    Hey all,

    anyone know is there a way to have it so I have to use a pattern to unlock every 30 minutes but otherwise its just the slide to unlock?
     
  7. phillip_viado

    phillip_viado Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    244
    63
    53
    Las Vegas
    I'm trying to update to the 5mb file but after it reboots it says update fail. I'm on stock not root
     
  8. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    Are you pulling it ota or using the upgrade tool pn the computer?
     
  9. phillip_viado

    phillip_viado Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    244
    63
    53
    Las Vegas

    I'm pulling the ota
     
  10. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    Try it on the computer
     
  11. xxwhynotxx

    xxwhynotxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    272
    3
    36
    OTA worked for me!
     
  12. dty06

    dty06 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm downloading the update now, but it seems to be 628 MB, which is much larger than the 387 MB everyone else seems to be getting. Well...here goes nothing.
     
  13. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    First impressions: slow, clumsy. Hoping it smooths out a little bit. Particularly when I'm going to remove icons from the screen. Screen gets all shaky and then launches a couple programs I didn't even want to open. :D
     
  14. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    It does its still ""settlin"" in right now
     
  15. blumeany

    blumeany Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    124
    10
    38
    fatdaddy - did you have to re-root after your upgrade? If so, how did you do it? I'm trying to run the rooting tool I have and it's not working.
     
  16. xxwhynotxx

    xxwhynotxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012

    Jul 10, 2012
    272
    3
    36
    I want to say yes he did.
     
  17. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    Yes i did i posted a link to the method i used in the all things root sub forum
     
  18. coned_miro

    coned_miro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    43
    0
    35
    Male
    Virginia
    Even after all the downloading, converting and flashing -> It still boots to the LG Logo, flashes, there's another LG Logo, it hangs, then turns black.

    So I'm pretty much SOL then?
     
  19. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    No im sure theres a way to fix its always easier if we knew exactly what you did and if there was someore development for the phone
     
  20. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    You might even want to go to the connect forum they seem to have more devs and its pretty much the same phone. Just hang in there dont give up
     
  21. coned_miro

    coned_miro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    43
    0
    35
    Male
    Virginia
    lol I'm not, I'm going to try the software update via PC again and see if I can't trick it into working-> it's already downloaded the file and is Updating right now
     
  22. coned_miro

    coned_miro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    43
    0
    35
    Male
    Virginia
    Nope:

    saw the Android and the blue progress bar, went to [LG], went black with backlight on
     
  23. fatdaddysnacks

    fatdaddysnacks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012

    Oct 7, 2012
    196
    24
    38
    Male
    Info Tech Specialist
    Does it reboot or just stay on black screen?
     
  24. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    Strange. The kdz method was the only one i knew of not owning a lucid myself that had a chance. Maybe somebody else can think of something.

    You can always take your pbone to the store and telm them something went wrong during their update. Which is true. Lol they gotta replace it for you.
     
    coned_miro and fatdaddysnacks like this.
  25. coned_miro

    coned_miro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    43
    0
    35
    Male
    Virginia
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMqLfq7Tm08

    That is a video showing what the Lucid does from plugged in, not turned on to turned on.

    It starts, tries to install an update, and then shows LG and flashes to a black screen with the backlight - I just took that video and teh Lucid is next to me still plugged in, still on the black/backlight screen
     

Share This Page

Loading...