1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Temporary Unroot .605?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Wally World, Oct 17, 2011.

  1. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    I have to take my phone in to V to have them confirm a screen issue. Can I unroot my .605 phone temporarily just in case? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You can use the one-click root/unroot found HERE.
     
    Wally World likes this.
  3. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Ahh! I forgot it had an uroot button. Nice. Thanks.
     
  4. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Ok that worked but how do I get rid of superuser? Can't uninstall.
     
  5. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    only way to get rid of superuser is to sbf or flash a different non rooted ota, or take the ota :p otherwise sbfing is in your future.



    im part psychic
     
  6. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    You could go into system/app and rename superuser.apk to .bak then reboot and it will not show up in your app list, that way you can just rename it when you're done.

    Edit: You would need to do this while rooted.
     
  7. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Can you do that if you are no longer rooted?
     
  8. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    he needs to unroot and get rid of the apk, he cannot rename it without root, unless he were to root, rename it, then unroot.....
    i thought of that as i was typing lol
    which is probably what you were implying
     
  9. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    Yes I was, I forgot to mention that...lol
     
  10. ylexot

    ylexot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,336
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    2,336
    405
    183
    Saint Inigoes, MD
    Another way would be to load LauncherPro and have it hide the icon from the drawer...
     
  11. Wally World

    Wally World Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    981
    61
    78
    Thanks. Rebooted twice cleared cache and it's gone now.
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Too late, but I would have backed up your rom in recovery, then do what you have to (sbf, whatever), then later root and restore your backup.
     
    Wally World likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...