1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

terrible keyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnnyjp, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. johnnyjp

    johnnyjp Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    its terrible. just cant type anything without mistakes. thats bullshit. tried to install some other keyboards, but even though theyre enabled in language & keyboard, i cant get them to work after froyo update (orange, unrooted).

    as much as i love my desire, yesterday i was so angry i almost smashed it on the wall because i was getting pissed of with the mf keyboard! i dont need fkin updates if the most important thing doesnt work - the keyboard!

    i also have an 3 gen ipod touch. the screen is smaller, resolution smaller, but typing is sweet.

    HELP ME OR I WILL HAVE TO KILL EVERYONE AT HTC :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    Personally, I love "Smart keyboard Pro". There's a free version with some features held back.


    Just saved the lives of everyone at HTC, feelsgoodman :cool:
     
  3. johnnyjp

    johnnyjp Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    ha :) i wouldnt be so sure :) itried installing it, none of the alternative keyboards seem to work on froyo!
     
  4. Jammy

    Jammy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    972
    174
    113
    United Kingdom
    Settings > Language and Keyboard

    Tick the keyboards you want to use. Press and hold a text field and select "Input Method", then choose the keyboard you want :)
     
  5. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Smart keyboard also has an iphone type layout that works pretty well! ;)
     
  6. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    238
    24
    38
    IT consultant
    Shropshire UK
    I am on Froyo (unbranded sim free) I use swype as my default keyboard and just tried smart keyboard 2 minutes ago and it works fine. What problem is it that you have with all these other keyboards?
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Did you calibrate your keyboard initially?
     
  8. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    929
    56
    78
    Luton
    I don't mind the stock keyboard. In my opinion it isn't too bad at all.
     
  9. bartlet

    bartlet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    97
    31
    43
    UK
  10. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    the only issue i have is when my big, fat thumbs hit the full stop key instead of the spacebar. any ideas on how to increase the width of the spacebar?
     
  11. flyte

    flyte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    109
    3
    36
    calibrate your keyboard, silly.
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,037
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,037
    13,069
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Just tried that one - very nice, I find it very easy to use. Usually you need to give a keyboard a little time to get used to it (or decide whether you are going to), but this was good from the go.

    Only one niggle - if I press the spacebar in 123 mode it switches back to ABC, and I've not found a setting to override this behaviour so far. Do you know whether that's possible?

    (The HTC keyboard does this too, so maybe it's not possible, but I find it irritating).
     
  13. DesireMe

    DesireMe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    777
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    777
    78
    78
    Poker
    Strathaven
    With a calibrated keyboard, i find the standard keyboard and predicative texting very easy and good.
     
  14. no fit state

    no fit state Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    147
    11
    38
    Milton Keynes
    My vote goes to Swiftkey :)
     
  15. johnnyjp

    johnnyjp Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    34
    0
    15
    calibration doesnt do much... i mean u can get used to it, but the ease of use compared to iphone... wow... thats a difference. htc keyboard sucks.
     
  16. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    I never even knew there was an option to calibrate the keyboard. Never did anything on it that wasn't my fault so didn't look for it :p

    Swype and Swiftkey are very good :)

    Tempted to try Smart Keyboard anyway.
     
  17. hero1908

    hero1908 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    UK
    I have the stock htc keyboard and though it's OK, I wish htc had taken the time to work on it abit more. When am typing, it sometimes hangs and then displays the word(s) that I've typed while it hanged. Abit like Swype, in that it displays the word when you finish swyping it, if you know what I mean.
     
  18. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    782
    186
    93
    No, no it doesn't. You don't like it, there's a significant difference. :rolleyes: Have you tried the compact qwerty that's built into the phone? It's at least worth a shot. I heartily recommend Swype or SlideIt as alternatives, however.
     
  19. widehead

    widehead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    387
    39
    43
    Educator
    Sharpen your sausage fingers with a Stanley knife. :D
     
  20. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010

    Sep 30, 2010
    164
    9
    36
    Is this the English for smart keyboard on The Market? If so its telling me that I dont need to install it unless I use smart keyboard pro

    I want it, how do I get it?
     
  21. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    yes, you're right. calibratin my keyboard would be very silly :rolleyes:

    calibrating would not make the keys any bigger or change the spacing between the keys. i just need a longer/wider spacebar so when i type at speed, i don't have to be so accurate.
     
  22. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,154
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    i'm hoping the HD will have bigger keys for my fat fingers
     
  23. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    If the Desire HD ROM on the Desire is anything to go by the keys are smaller. Because the HD doesn't have a trackpad there are arrow buttons at the bottom of the keyboard...I have no issues with it but some might (this is also on a smaller screen, remember)
     
  24. furious duck

    furious duck Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    159
    10
    38
    You think the stock is bad you should try Swiftkey! Personally I quite like the stock. This doesn't exactly answer your question I know but I've given all the other keyboards a chance and none of them are as good as the stock imo.
     
  25. Mubble

    Mubble Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    205
    12
    38
    SlideIt is simply awesome.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...