1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tesco Mobile UK - any good for my Desire..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by albert_htc, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    Currently with 02 and have no major problems.

    But Tesco UK have some great deals... so is it any good ?
    Is the 3G / H network any good for my desire ?

    Thanks :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. jimeller

    jimeller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    409
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009

    Aug 6, 2009
    409
    23
    38
    East Riding
    I may stand corrected here, but I thought Tesco Mobile rents its line from O2.
     
  3. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    Must admit I thought the same :)

    They are offering for
     
  4. BarnumC

    BarnumC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    82
    6
    16
    photo processing
    Cambs
    Indeed Tesco do run on O2's backbone, sounds like a sweet deal. Dont forget to port your number. O2's retention dept may well try to match.
     
  5. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    May be worth mentioning - the tesco deal is superb, but if internet is important you may want to consider the giff gaff tarrif. They offer for
     
  6. bunnisher

    bunnisher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    86
    15
    18
    York, England
     
  7. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    I used to be with Tesco and there coverage was superb, much better than 3 that I am with now. Great call center service. Great packages. I used to have
     
  8. mr.hachi

    mr.hachi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    90
    17
    18
    UK
    Only thing I didn't like about Tesco sims is they fill your phone full of crap, and when you delete it and reboot it all comes back.
     
  9. albert_htc

    albert_htc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    215
    1
    36
    Not to sure I like the idea of this !
    I presume it's something on the sim that can't be removed :(
     
  10. master_yoda

    master_yoda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    260
    50
    53
    United Kingdom
     
  11. mr.hachi

    mr.hachi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    90
    17
    18
    UK
    It fills your phone with links to all sorts of tesco wap sites, sim contacts for tesco products, it took up about 20 slots of tesco stuff in the contacts.

    Service was fine but I really hated all that stuff in my phone, just didn't feel like my phone when every second contact was something to do with tescos.

    This was on a samsung tocco lite which I got for someone, I don't know how it would work on a desire as it didn't actually work when I put it in mine.
     
  12. master_yoda

    master_yoda Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    260
    50
    53
    United Kingdom
     
  13. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
     
  14. Kev23

    Kev23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    Portsmouth, UK
     
  15. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    No i'm not. In fact, I haven't even joined them yet. But i'm currently on o2 pay go and am getting pretty annoyed with their measly 500mb tarrifs and crap value.

    I know my stuff because i've done a lot of research into the deals around. I'm likely to switch in the upcoming weeks when I can get round to it.

    And so, honestly I don't know about the company with regards to "how good they are", but from what I've heard, coverage is excellent as with any o2 sim, and prices and cheap. Fine, it may lack the same support or shops etc, but for me those are irrelevant. I'm interested in signal and cost - and frankly they are unmatched for those.
     
  16. epic999

    epic999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Have you checked out T-Mobile at the moment
     
  17. 325i

    325i Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    177
    5
    36
    The tesco deal does not have a FUP of 500mb, its a hard cap. Meaning you will get charged
     
  18. Kev23

    Kev23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    Portsmouth, UK
    With you.....doesn't bother me either.......and the 'proper unlimited' sounds great....how cool to not worry about internet usage :D
     
  19. tomvar

    tomvar Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Albert_htc and Mr hachi,

    Put all you contacts in the phone memory and select your default contacts as phone. This will exclude all the inbuilt tesco numbers in SIM contacts.

    tom
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...