1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root testers needed for TWRP/CWM/SD-EXT data

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hroark13, Jul 14, 2013.

  1. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    hello all

    I have been playing around some this weekend since we now have a lot more options open to us, thanks to djrbliss and his new version of Loki that supports our phone

    Please donate to bliss if you can

    http://goo.gl/zBGb0

    and if you can not, that is OK but please show your appreciation to him by writing a nice thank you post for him, the man has done a lot for us


    If any of you have read this thread

    http://androidforums.com/motion-4g-all-things-root/739805-ok-what-i-think-we-need-now.html

    you should know some of the issues we need to deal with, I was pretty drunk when I wrote that thread, but the issues that it mentions still stand, mainly the data partition being wiped if you enter recovery, and my suggestion of using a boot menu is ok, but is a lot of work

    i think i have an easier solution

    lets just not use the internal data partition

    I have created a TWRP and CWM recoveries that supports sd-ext, and a modified stock kernel that mounts sd-ext to data, instead of the internal partition

    This should only be used by advanced testers, I have tested it, but not thoroughly

    YOUR DATA WILL BE LOST WHEN YOU SWITCH OVER TO THIS

    EVEN YOUR DATA ON YOUR SD CARD WILL BE LOST, BECAUSE IT WILL RE-PARTITION THE SD CARD

    USE A DIFFERENT SD CARD TO TEST THIS, ONE THAT DOES NOT CONTAIN YOUR BACKUPS


    You must be on version F firmware, rooted and have 2nd init recovery installed

    MAKE A BACKUP IN 2ND INIT RECOVERY, AND THEN TURN THE PHONE OFF, TAKE THAT SD CARD OUT, AND PUT IT IN A SAFE PLACE, AND PUT ANOTHER SD CARD IN THAT YOU DO NOT CARE THAT IS GETS WIPED

    get back into 2nd init recovery

    download this

    CWM version
    lgm-f-cwm-data-sd-ext.zip

    or this

    TWRP version
    lgm-f-twrp-data-sd-extb.zip

    and copy it to this new sd card, then install it from 2nd init recovery

    then go into the advanced menu and choose reboot recovery

    DO NOT TRY TO BOOT TO ANDROID YET


    you should now be booted into TWRP 2.5 or CWM 6

    go into the advanced menu and choose Partition SD card

    make the partition size at least 1024, you can make it bigger if you are using a big sd card

    set the Swap size to 0

    for TWRP press the EXT4 button
    and then swipe the the thing to make the partition

    you now have a second partition on your sdcard

    the kernel provided is just the stock kernel, i removed wallpaper from it

    and I change the mount line for data

    from

    mount ext4 /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata /data nosuid nodev barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc data=ordered errors=continue

    to

    mount ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /data nosuid nodev barrier=1 noauto_da_alloc data=ordered errors=continue


    now when you boot into recovery your data will not be lost

    I know this is not the best solution in the world, but it is an option


    Thank you to djrbliss for Loki
    Shabby for letting me use his tree
    Koush for Clock Work Mod
    TeamWin for TWRP




    hK

    If I have helped you, and you like my work, please click on the Thanks Button and give my thread a rating by clicking on the stars above.

    If you would like to buy me a beer, you can click on the PayPal button

    [​IMG]




    .
     

    Advertisement

  2. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Testing now.
     
  3. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    So if this don't use data, what's it using?
     
  4. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    instead of using

    /dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/userdata

    for /data


    it is using the new partition you make on the sdcard

    /dev/block/mmcblk1p2

    for data
     
  5. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    oh you should be using version F firmware too, I will update OP
     
  6. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Eh, anything motion using loki needs to be on firmware f ;)
     
  7. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    no not really, but i don't to confuse people
     
  8. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    Yea, ik, you got loki working with C :p
     
  9. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    that, and the current version of Loki should works just fine with D and E (me thinks)
     
  10. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #57
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl
    nah, I tried a loki'd recovery on aboot C, it did the same thing as the other tests (freezing on LG logo at boot), but my phone was also in QHUSB mode only when on aboot C with the loki'd recovery made with the f aboot.
     
  11. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    to get Loki to work with C you have to change the check sigs address to


    .check_sigs = 0x88F0FC78,

    but it is not worth even messing around with it, i tested it and it still wipes the data, that is why I came up with this solution
     
    sammyz likes this.
  12. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    So the recovery boots, it just doesn't stay, after I did everything the guide said I rebooted the phone and got stuck on a bootloop, then tried to insert my other sd card with my backup and there was no recovery at all, it would just show a black screen almost like the blacklight issue and there was nothing from there, then pulled out the battery and placed my test sd card in and then booted into recovery but it was 2nd int recovery still and then had to factory reset to get out of the bootloop and right now I'm just trying and hoping that I can get my other back up to show up again.
     
  13. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    what ROM our you on ?
     
  14. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    I was on BobZ Cm10 5/21
     
  15. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    I have been testing this on stock version F ROM

    do you have version F aboot file loaded ?
     
  16. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    I don't think I do, but that is what i'm gonna after I figure this one backup thing out, I'll go back to stock firmware F, root and then try this again. :p
     
  17. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483
    when you have this new TWRP or CWM recovery


    the proper way to boot into recovery will be to hold power and volume down


    you will get a message about factory reset, press the power button twice and it will boot into recovery, it will wipe the internal data partiton

    but it will not wipe the sd-ext, which is our new data partition
     
  18. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Okay, I'm gonna unbrick and then do this again for I lost my backup for some weird reason but I don't mind doing everything again, I have time and also I can just put my music back on it again :]
     
  19. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    hmm, I did mention to make a backup in 2nd init, and take the card out and put it in a safe place, in big red letters

    I am glad you did not lose any important data

    let me know how your tests go
     
  20. johnnyl1111

    johnnyl1111 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    1,497
    545
    213
    texas
    finally a touch recovery. twrp is awesome. thanks for this hk!
     
  21. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    your welcome
     
  22. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Haha, I noticed that, and I did do that :p, just that when I thought I was done, I wanted to restore my backup so I put it back in, and booted into recovery just like you normally would on CM10 (Forgot that the recovery boots differently) and so then I lost my things on my SD but now that I think about it, I don't have to unbrick and do everything again I just gotta add the things to my sd card and remember to boot into recovery in a different way now.
     
  23. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,287
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,287
    4,118
    483

    OK, just make sure you are on version F aboot
     
  24. Android?What!?

    Android?What!? Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    600
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011

    Aug 1, 2011
    600
    43
    68
    eh,
    Detroit,mi
    So pretty much after this is installed we can switch back to the old SD card and still have everything and a working touch recovery!? :D
     
  25. Zephyr101

    Zephyr101 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012

    Dec 2, 2012
    360
    85
    53
    Male
    Texas
    And how can I check that and or how can I install it onto my phone?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...