1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Testing your applications

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by smattiuz, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. smattiuz

    smattiuz Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    CS Student - Part time Web Developer - Panasonic T
    Maserada, Treviso, Italy
    I was thinking about how you manage to test your applications... do you have an android device or you do simply use the emulator? I was thinking about installing android on virtualbox and try my applications there (since i don't have an android phone, just a nokia e65 which seems not to be android capable :( )

    what about you?
     

    Advertisement

  2. regulatre

    regulatre Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    46
    1
    16
    Linux Admin
    USA
    I know what you mean. There SDK comes with an "exerciser monkey" that does random user inputs against a program. It could probably expose a glitch or two.

    I also noticed that when I create an app in Eclipse, it asks if I want to create a "test app" to go along with my app. I haven't experimented with this much other than letting it create the test app.

    For my app I was thinking of just making a check list that I'll run through against each release: "checked this" "checked that"...


     
  3. driodguy

    driodguy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I feel like I have to see it in an actual device for some reason, but the emulator is a really close representation so it might not be necessary. I wonder how much the exerciser monkey will really be able to find certain kinds of bugs, but it's a good piece to the puzzle.

    I also run my apps through the analyzer at ShipCode.com, kind of a free little check that looks for some poor programming practices and throws up a cool little report.

    Of course if you've got the $$ you can get a freelancer or QA house to go over your application, but for most folks this is overkill I guess. Sometimes when you QA your own stuff you can miss the easiest of problems, it's like I've got blinders on sometimes!
     

Share This Page

Loading...