1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Tether Fix (Solution)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HasH_BrowN, Aug 16, 2015.

?

Was this helpful?

  1. yes

    90.0%
  2. no

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. missing steps

    10.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. WarrantyVoider

    WarrantyVoider Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014

    Aug 18, 2014
    352
    243
    78
    You shouldn't lose your plan by rooting, but your plan's ToS might prohibit tethering or excess data usage. So make sure you understand the situation.

    Technically, this phone has built-in tethering support and using that doesn't require root. However, the carrier has disabled that feature. To make a change to re-enable the feature requires some kind of superuser/root privilege. The simpler way to do this is by rooting. Once rooted, the steps outlined by HasH_BrowN should turn on tethering.

    If under Settings->More..., you don't have options for tethering, then that feature is hidden. To get it to show, use Shortcut Master again. This time search for "ChameleonNodeMenu" and then "Launch" -> "Tethered Data" -> "Get". Change the value to 3 (for Tribute, 1=no tethering option, 2=wifi+bluetooth, 3=usb+wifi+bluetooth; other phones like Volt seem to be different) and save.

    There is a harder way to do these changes outside of the Android system so that there would be no trace of any rooting attempt. This is complicated though. The method involves editing sqlite database files to change settings directly. I don't suppose anyone would prefer this route, so I won't go into it.

    Without rooting, I think most people go with FoxFi/PdaNet+. I have no experience with this, but I've read it wouldn't work with some carriers and/or phones. Android distinguishes between on-device data and tethered data. Tethered data probably go through a different APN and the carrier can detect/block tethering use that way. There is a setting to disable this behavior. You need to issue a command with adb shell (maybe terminal emulator would work as well): "settings put global tether_dun_required 0". I don't think issuing this command requires root.

    Technically speaking, the carrier can still detect tethering based on traffic. If that's a problem, the next step might be to use a VPN to encrypt data.

    I hope this reply makes some sense. Good luck.
     

    Advertisement

    HasH_BrowN, dlinderaz and DaniRynae like this.
  2. jerrspud

    jerrspud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    151
    21
    38
    this worked for me as well. OP solution had the "type 2" error

    great app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.snclab.wifitetherrouter
     
  3. teatimecrumpet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Boston, MA
    Hi, I followed this exactly and the hotspot will activate for about 2 seconds. then say

    "Unable to establish a wireless connection"

    Then throw an "MIP: 67" error

    And then a message asking if I want to view subscription options for this.

    Mobile data comes back eventually.

    I have VM as my carrier.
     

Share This Page

Loading...