1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Tethering & 4G not working on rooted Samsung 6S edge

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by manta ray, May 19, 2016.

  1. manta ray

    manta ray Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016

    May 19, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi,

    I’ve bought a 2nd hand Samsung 6s edge phone which had been unlocked so I can use my local SIM card. It seems to be a US Sprint phone originally.

    It won’t connect to 4g though. I have a 4G SIM card in and when I go to Settings -> Mobile Networks -> Network Mode - > LTE / CDMA it then reboots and comes up with “Unable to establish a wireless data connection LTE: ESM-x EMM-15.

    I also cannot set up tethering / wireless hotspot as it’s not an option. I’ve downloaded several different apps (MultiWindowToggle) which are meant to restore this functionality but none have worked.

    Do you know how I can fix these problems please?

    Thanks,
    Steve
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,158
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,158
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    Depends on where you are. Have you checked if your phone will work on your country? The US normally works on different bandwidths for LTE and 4G than the rest of the world. Also, if your network supports these bands.

    You can check a website called willmyphonework. You'll have to specify which S6 Edge you have though.
     
  3. manta ray

    manta ray Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016

    May 19, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    The phone works fine - I'm in Indonesia at the moment and can make and receive calls and surf the net.

    There is 4G here too as my wife gets it on her iPhone using the same phone company.

    The tethering seems to be disabled on the phone by Sprint.
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,158
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,158
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    Doesn't matter if there is 4G there. What matters is if your 4G by your network uses the same 4G bands as the US phones do. Sprint uses 850, 1900, and 2500. You need to match the uplink and downlink. A quick Google search shows that indonesian carriers use different bands. Indosat uses 900/1800, Smartfren uses 850/2300, and Telcomsel uses 900/1800. This means 4G in indonesia will not work on a Sprint phone.

    Of course the S7 may have multiple support, but I can't be sure.
     
    #4 chanchan05, May 19, 2016
    Last edited: May 19, 2016
  5. manta ray

    manta ray Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2016

    May 19, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    OK thanks for that. If I somehow flashed the phone and reset it to standard S6 edge software would that work?

    Any suggestions on how to enable tethering?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    I seen people trying to use US Sprint and Nextel phones in China. They've usually ended-up buying something a bit more local.
    This is a useful site to check....
    http://willmyphonework.net/

    I believe Sprint devices also have a nasty little feature called MSL(Master Subsidy Lock), where they only communicate via a Sprint proxy, and so won't go online without a current active Sprint contract. Think there's a couple of threads about it somewhere, as to what you might be able to do about it. They're usually sold at way below cost by Sprint, i.e. subsidized, subject to contract.
     
    #6 mikedt, May 19, 2016
    Last edited: May 19, 2016
  7. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,158
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,158
    4,828
    1,108
    Male
    Nope. Flashing won't help. That would only be software. This is a hardware issue. Basically the antenna of the phone itself is the problem. Think of it like a TV and a remote. A Sony TV in general won't work with a Panasonic remote. You need a Sony compatible remote. Nothing you do to the remote can change that except buy a new compatible one.

    I don't know the answer to the tethering question.
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,089
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,089
    14,051
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    The tethering feature could be something that Sprint has to activate via their custom firmware, usually when you pay the tethering subscription. As the phone is in Indonesia, so obviously that's not going to happen. Could try FoxFi, that's what often recommended to enable tethering in a phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...