1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support tethering being throttled?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Crogoth, Jul 27, 2013.

  1. Crogoth

    Crogoth Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    6
    1
    6
    I noticed over the last few weeks that my tethering has slowed down to a crawl. I'm on the $55 promo plan and already use a UA Switcher for my laptop, but even on my android tablet my speeds are terrible.

    Is there anything i can do about this? how would i know if i've been caught/throttled?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Spdfreak34

    Spdfreak34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012

    Dec 23, 2012
    268
    58
    53
    Male
    How much data are you using? On the unlimited plan they will still throttle you after 60 gigs I believe.
     
  3. jstoner

    jstoner Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013

    Feb 11, 2013
    167
    8
    36
    Male
    My speed sucks too went from 9.8mbs to flipen .91mbs i to have the 55 no throttle im @20gigs called metro and they said take my phone to store see if they can fix it i just got the replacement phone 4 days ago lol
     
  4. Crogoth

    Crogoth Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    6
    1
    6
    since July 7, my upload speed has been almost halved weekly. I'm on the $55 unlimited plan and as far as i can tell i haven't used anywhere near a gig of data since my tethering went awol.
     
    B198301 likes this.
  5. rangerrob

    rangerrob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    166
    27
    43
    Had the same problem. Go to the connect 4g in forum and download the data throttle remover. flash it and your good to go.plus if you have Prl 3035 go back to 3032
     
  6. Crogoth

    Crogoth Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    6
    1
    6
    how would i go about downgrading my PRL?
     
  7. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
  8. killermike

    killermike Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    62
    6
    16
    Male
    Search cross breeder in this forum it removes the data governer problem solved

    Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk
     
  9. killermike

    killermike Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013

    Mar 12, 2013
    62
    6
    16
    Male
    Or lg motion forum that is

    Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Spdfreak34

    Spdfreak34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012

    Dec 23, 2012
    268
    58
    53
    Male
    How exactly does it remove something that's done on the server end. If you are using enough data to be throttled then all you can do is use less data.
     
  11. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I been saying that for years. lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...