1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Tethering from photon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by outkast25, Nov 13, 2011.

  1. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
    Why doesnt my tether app on my rooted photon work with my galaxy tab? I can tether my ipod touch and laptop from my photon. Any help ? thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,788
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,788
    35,040
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I can't tell you why, but if you are running as a wifi hotspot with security, disable the security so your Tab can see the SSID of the phone. Connect to the phone. Then disconnect the tab, re-enable the security on the Photon and it should work.
     
  3. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
    My security is off.
     
  4. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,788
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,788
    35,040
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    At the time you attempt to connect to the Tab, is the phone tethered to any other device?
     
  5. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
    No. However it does tether with other devices flawlessly.
     
  6. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    36,788
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    36,788
    35,040
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Does the Tab see the SSID of the photon? I'd also make sure that you have the latest OS for the tab as ther may have been some issues like this.

    Mind you, this is all basic troubleshooting. The people best qualified to answer are other tab owners.
     
  8. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
    No , the tab does not recognize the ssid from my phone. .....
     
  9. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
  10. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
  11. outkast25

    outkast25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #347
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    319
    18
    38
    I found the solution! follow this video!
     

Share This Page

Loading...