1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Tethering not allowed ??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by doc1964, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. doc1964

    doc1964 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #459
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    275
    71
    53
    Male
    Scotland
    My stepson currently has a galaxy s on the One contract with three in the UK. This comes with unlimited data and allows tethering. His contract is due to expire in a few days and he has not been offered any decent upgrade deals by 3. There is a good deal with Virgin UK on S3 just now that gives practically unlimited everything including Data but does not allow tethering. I was wondering if there is any way round this tethering restriction. I know if you try to connect you will probably get diverted to a page telling you that tethering is not possible, Does Foxfi or any similar program bypass this action. Want to confirmt his before moving network.
    Thanks for any help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Foxfi doesn't work on most jellybean phones.

    It may be worth editing your title to include "virgin uk" to get a more targeted response. I assume all networks manage it the same way (user agent string detection) but I can't be certain.

    For example, 3's plans under the one plan don't allow tethering. They detect the user agent as NOT being an android phone. Some browsers can manually change the user agent (chrome for example).

    I have one plan so cannot Test. Friend at work tethered his ipad and got redirected in safari, but other streaming apps (that didn't use a user agent string) worked fine.

    If you can't get a virgin specific answer, get their payg sim and test it.


    You can get the android user agent string by going to whatsmyuseragent.com
     
  3. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    pdanet works...been using it for years and it's still good.

    JM
     

Share This Page

Loading...