1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support tethering question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by congaman59, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. congaman59

    congaman59 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #805
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011

    Jan 29, 2011
    171
    8
    36
    Male
    near ATL
    Is there an app that will let me tether my SIII for free without rooting?
    I'm on Sprint.
     

    Advertisement

  2. slobbythegreat

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    since when is tethering a chargeable function???? i tether my note 10.1 to my s3 all the time
     
  3. djbasik

    djbasik Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    83
    13
    18
    Toronto, Canada
    I think some American Carries (Maybe All) charge for the ability to tether. In Canada we are lucky in that 1 respect. Internationally Most Carriers also dont consider tethering a chargeable function.
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    In the us, if you have a plan that limits how many GB you can use they have to include tethering free. You've paid for the data, use it how you'd like.

    Sprint is unlimited, so they are able to charge for tethering abilities.

    To answer your question, I'm not aware of any free tethering options that work on stock roms of android 4.1+ jellybean. Give it time, the developers will find a way
     
  5. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    I have moved this thread into the SGS3 'Domestic' forum since OP is in America.
     
  6. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    I have a 2 gb limit and T-Mobile USA charges extra for tethering.
     
  7. bprice

    bprice Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    What is hard to understand is paying $30 or so a month for unlimited data and not being allowed to use it as i please. If I want to tether now and then or just surf all of the time on my phone and the data usage is the same.....then so what. VZW is getting paid in either case.
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Because vzw doesn't want to become your internet provider for that price.

    When you use the device as a hotspot and connect 4 devices to it its going to use more data, and vzw wants to be compensated for that on an unlimited plan.
     
  9. SIII groupie

    SIII groupie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    86
    14
    38
    Chicago
    I found PdaNet app that with a USB lets me connect SIII to UltraBook. But after my 14day free trial cost is $15.99. Still deciding if I will now pay. There is an app FoxFi that works with PdaNet to do wirelessly but at this time can't work with JellyBean so not an option.

    The USB worked great for me and I am on Sprint. App will not show up in the App Store on a sprint phone so search the web for the download.

    Let me correct, the free version still works but will not allow secure Web sites after 14 day trial.
    Here is the download link.
     
  10. skramblr

    skramblr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    106
    5
    36
    Foxfi will enable your tethering without rooting.
     
  11. SIII groupie

    SIII groupie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    86
    14
    38
    Chicago
    I can't get it to work on Sprint GIII. I tried again today.
     
  12. ronbien

    ronbien Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    215
    47
    53
    I am pretty sure Sprint has this app blocked.
    Good Luck!
     
  13. toxic281

    toxic281 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012

    Sep 8, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    What are you trying to teather your S3 to?
     
  14. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    I use PDANET to tether my computer when WIFI is not available. Had to pay for it, but it works beautifully.

    JM
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #27
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,857
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,857
    3,449
    923
    i agree in concept.

    but since it is their network.. and they did tell you the limitations of the contract.. and what they want to charge for.. and you signed the contract.
    then you have to accept the situation.

    it sucks that when you go to eat at a buffet... all i can eat.. why cant i take a togo box home? it is for me to eat later! I paid for the food.. and i could sit there till i am hungry again later.
     
  16. Rdjr74

    Rdjr74 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    725
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    725
    82
    78
    Cincy
    Hot Spot Toggle. Search for that. Better then pdanet. I switched from pdanet (which uses foxfi) but since foxfi is charging money now and seems to not work as well since that, I found Hot Spot Toggle. Accesses the phones built in hotspot functionality as if I was paying thru Verizon. The dev. seemed to have found a way to by-pass the security check to see if on your account you are paying for hotspot. I am still on unlimited data so I would still have to pay 30 dollars a month for it. Not happening, no way no how. Works great!
     

Share This Page

Loading...