1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shane777man, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Shane777man

    Shane777man Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I currently have an Ally and it has the stock Froyo ( rooted ) installed. I purchased an Archos 101 last night and am looking at how I can you use the Ally to tether my connection to the Archos 101, and suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Brandonson112

    Brandonson112 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    197
    45
    43
    I think you should be able to just use the wireless tether app from the market.
     
  3. k.c.cole

    k.c.cole Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    363
    71
    73
    Technical Support Trainer
    Colorado
    My experience.... i could not get any of the market apps to work right. If you choose to try out a custom rom, velocity and frunisher both have a custom wireless tether and wired tether app built in. That's the only one that has worked for my ally.
     
  4. Valkerie

    Valkerie Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    407
    52
    53
    Barnacle worked for me, however I do much prefer Velocity and Frunisher's built in app.
     
  5. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    The wireless tether app does work on the ally now. The changes that were made to its source code got submitted back to its devs.
     
    k.c.cole likes this.
  6. ccsoccer03

    ccsoccer03 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    248
    36
    43
    I tried downloading that app today on Velocity 1.0 and it said the app was "not signed correctly"
     
  7. KingOfGreen

    KingOfGreen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    842
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010

    Nov 3, 2010
    842
    179
    93
    Chandler, Az

    It comes with velocity had you deleted it? Also has wired tether
     
  8. Shane777man

    Shane777man Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I have the wireless tether installed, however my Archos 101 doesn't see it....I will try a custom rom.
     
  9. Shane777man

    Shane777man Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Update: I have installed Velocity and have smiled ear to ear since. Tethering works, well one word: Awesome...love the custom rom also...many thanks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...