1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tethering?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DatacomGuy, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Co-worker bought on of these phones, and we're trying to determine if the phone is tetherable.

    Is it tetherable natively, or does he need to wait for root to run one of the root wifi tethering apps?
     

    Advertisement

  2. erb0817

    erb0817 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    77
    11
    18
    Orlando, FL
    Use PDANet. It's free and works without root.
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010

    Mar 8, 2010
    297
    7
    36
    Male
    Atlanta, FL
    Good call, didnt think of that. Thanks.
     
  4. btp76

    btp76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Did pdanet work?
     
  5. behold_this

    behold_this Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    1,419
    243
    143
    Umm...yeah...it works for WIRED tether
     
  6. erb0817

    erb0817 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    77
    11
    18
    Orlando, FL
    Also if your computer has a Bluetooth adapter, PDANet allows for Bluetooth Dial-up Network for wireless tethering.
     
  7. chadmd23

    chadmd23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    530
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    530
    57
    78
    NYC
    I can't get it to work.

    Edit:
    Now I got it working. You just have to enable DUN in the phone & modem settings. Its the one service that is not enabled by default.
     
  8. erb0817

    erb0817 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    77
    11
    18
    Orlando, FL
    Ya it took me a little messing around to get it to work. For anyone else, you have to go into the properties for the PDANet modem and enable "Standard Modem over Bluetooth". The Dial-up phone number is 123 and the username and password are both blank. Make sure on the program on the phone, you have Bluetooth DUN enabled, not USB Tether.
     
  9. rscaramelo

    rscaramelo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    It's built into the 2.2 software. I hope we get the upgrade ASAP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...