1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Text input not showing up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gagglone, May 18, 2011.

  1. gagglone

    gagglone Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    27
    1
    16
    Sometimes I'll have issues with a text input field. I'll send a text or post on facebook/twitter via tweet deck or something else and I'll start typing and nothing will show up. I have to back out of the application and hit my task killer and go back in and try again before it'll let me do it.

    Is anybody else having this issue? Or know a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Wanderlusterer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    71
    22
    18
    I'm not too sure of a precise fix, but I'm thinking that having a task killer on you phone might be a problem. I'd completely uninstall it from the phone, turn off the phone and take out the battery for at least 10 minutes and then power back up the phone. See if that helps...
     
  3. gagglone

    gagglone Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    27
    1
    16
    Well I didn't notice this until the OTA, and I've had the task killer on since I got the phone(and on my old droid aswell). I'll give it a shot and see if I notice it at all.
     
  4. Wanderlusterer

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    71
    22
    18
    If anything, the task killer could quite potentially cause more problems than actually do good with your phone. There is an argument that there are some pros to having one, but I believe the general consensus is that task killers as applications on your phone, cause much more harm and problems than good.
     
  5. project.in.process

    project.in.process Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    193
    23
    38
    Production Engineer
    Charlotte, NC
    yes, i've had issue with this as well.

    what keyboard are you using?

    this was a common problem for me with Swype.
    after i installed FlexT9, and uninstalled Swype, this no longer occurred.

    the fix for me was, as it was for most people,
    long press the text input area
    switch keyboards
    long press the text input area
    switch BACK to your desired keyboard

    it worked every time.
     
  6. tilt783

    tilt783 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Has been happening for me randomly after downloading the Swipe it texting demo. Demo has since expired but was still on my phone. I tried uninstalling it, will post again if it helps!

    Also, doing the switch keyboards thing worked most of the time but not all the time for me
     
  7. goingdead

    goingdead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    38
    0
    15
    i was actually about to post about this today. i've been having the same problems, and it doesn't always work when i use my task killer, sometimes it'll just take some tweaking aroudn in my SMS until it decides to work again. really frustrating
     

Share This Page

Loading...