1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

text message signature

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by jsknight100, May 8, 2012.

  1. jsknight100

    jsknight100 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    4
    1
    6
    Is it possible to add a signature file to text messages?
     

    Advertisement

    Brendaaguilar likes this.
  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,839
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,839
    4,546
    1,108
    Male
    You use signatures on an SMS if you use an app that supports adding signatures automatically, like Handcent or Go SMS Pro.
     
    jsknight100 likes this.
  3. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Bear in mind that the .sig would cut into the 140char limit for SMS.
     
  4. jsknight100

    jsknight100 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 3, 2012

    May 3, 2012
    4
    1
    6
    Thanks my old phone had the capacity I am just surprised a smart phone does not have that capability!
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,017
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,017
    11,519
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Modern smart phones do have that capability, BUT it's the 20+ year old GSM network technology itself that limits SMS to 140 characters.

    You can indeed send messages longer than 140 chars. But what's actually happening the phone is dividing the long message into 140 char chunks. So you enter say a 200 char message, your phone divides it into separate 140 char + 60 char chunks, sends it as two separate SMSs, recipient's phone concatenates the two SMSs into a single seamless 200 char message. Of course you are billed for two separate SMSs by the carrier.
     
  6. fratermus

    fratermus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    202
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010


    I think the OP meant s/he was surprised the smartphone SMS app didn't have the sig built in. The counterargument is that smartphones are designed to allow 3rd-party apps to extend basic functionality.

    On both ends.

    I've given up on straight SMS; I use Google Voice (both through the Voice app and using the SMS-email functionality).
     
    mikedt likes this.
  7. jkk310

    jkk310 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    I can't see signature bottom in my User CP section. So how I add text message signature
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,017
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,017
    11,519
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    It's certainly a bummer if the recipient is getting charged double, because a sender's (probably) useless sig made the message longer than 140 chars. :(
     
  9. TxGranddad

    TxGranddad Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014

    Mar 16, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    Open text message app. Go to settings. Scroll down to Signature Settings. Edit Signature and add or delete a signature. Uncheck Add Signature.
     
  10. PAdrien

    PAdrien Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011

    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    3
    36
    I was able to initially setup a signature on a Nexus S ver 4.1.2 (Samsung) but made an error in the phone number and have not been able to change it since.

    I waited to upgrade and now have a Samsung Galaxy S version 4.2.2 hoping I would be able to update the number then but the old number still shows and still do not know how to change it.

    Any ideas?

    I should add that the signature settings only allows me to add my name. I am thinking the issue might be with Google since the same error appeared on the S4 as was in the Nexus S.

    Many thanks
     
  11. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,420
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,420
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    When you update you need to do a factory data reset that will clear any old data errors and all will be straight .
     

Share This Page

Loading...