1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support text messages out of town? Help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nolad88, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. nolad88

    nolad88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I'm out of town on a cricket network and my text messeges do not work. last time this happened i jus downloaded handcend and my text messages worked fine but this time it wont! my internet works fine, i recieve calls, i dont kno wat to do i've been on hold with cricket for 20 min. now HELP!! :mad::thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    If you are roaming your text messages will not work unless you have bought roaming minutes. I'm surprised you can even make or receive calls. You can put money in your flexbucket account for roaming calls. That's the only way I know to text or call with Cricket when roaming.
     
  3. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    Cricket still have Roming ?
    idk about Cricket but Metro
    i was able to txt while in Reno , NY , FL
    i heard they cost 15cent per min ?
     
  4. nolad88

    nolad88 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Roaming is actually free. all i had to do was push *228 before i left town and turn on my wifi
     
  5. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    I'm talking about making calls. Unless they are charging you the calls are not free and neither are the text messages. You might want to verify that by going to your account because it might save you from a huge shock! LOL

    ;)
     
  6. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    But Jazz , isnt Cricket like Metro ?
    pay month to month ?
    there is no hiden charge
    unless u got the plan for it
    im sure they dont charge u
    then tell u after like other phone company
    u get what ever plan u pay for ?
    isnt it ?
     
  7. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    nolad88
    maybe the area ur in
    is not cover by cricket network ?
    the area ur at , dose the network switch to roaming ?
    can u go in setting , wireless & networks , mobile networks
    and try clicking on date roaming ? see if that work ?
    metro is like a prepay by month
    not sure if cricket is like that ,
    what ever u dont pay , u cant get the service
     
  8. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    I'm really not sure. The basic plan is fixed but if they have your credit card on file and you incur charges then they might deduct it. I just know that if you are roaming they are going to charge you...one way or the other, starr. :)
     
  9. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    :D Oki Jazz :D
    I dont know about cricket ,
    but Metro , i was in Reno NV , FL , ( NY Only but i didnt make any call there )
    i was not charge
    at home where i live by the ocean in SF
    i only get 1 bar
    so i set my sysstem select to Automatic insist of home
    so from time to time it show Roaming LoL
    but i do get better signal
    but never charge , Lucky Me lol
     
  10. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    Well, if you didn't make any calls they had no reason to charge you! LOL :D
     
  11. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    a lil typo there , in NY only but in reno , i made some call back to ca
    at least 3 - 5
    and ton of txt
    but enough of us Jazz back to Nolad88 problem

    > nolad88 best is gonna come from Cricket itself
    so call 611 from ur phone and confirm
    call at night time or send them an email or if u pass by the store next time around
    go in and ask
     
  12. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,196
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    I'm pretty sure everything is prepaid on cricket. If you haven't prepaid for roaming minutes and your phone is still working, then you're not roaming. I think it's only considered roaming if you are not in a cricket area. I'm not sure what the problem is with the texting, though.
     
  13. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    With Cricket it's considered roaming when you're not in your 'home area'. This is how they sock it to you! LOL Same with texting. The thing is that you can receive calls and texts from users with other carriers but not Cricket.

    It kinda makes sense if you don't think about it! hahaha :p
     
  14. R0M0-mentum_09

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Your not getting any texts lol? Alot better than when I went down to the bay area (I'm from Eugene,OR) and started getting random texts and picture messages from random people HAHA (this was a result of Sprints/Crickets new contract)
     
  15. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,196
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Maybe I'm wrong about the definition of roaming, but you can call from other cricket areas without paying extra. However, if you make too many calls from outside your "home" area, cricket will get mad and cut your service off. I forget what the percentage is, but it's probably on their web site somewhere.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  16. starr1048

    starr1048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    204
    33
    43
    Somewhere Out There
    Crickets is backbone by sprints network ?
    i know in sf Metro is backbone by VZ
     

Share This Page

Loading...