1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Thai Keyboard help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mandlebrot, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hi guys,

    I am trying to install a Thai keyboard on my standard UK HTC Desire. I have downloaded a few from the market place but can't seem to get any to work.

    Has anyone managed to get a Thai key to work on the Desire and if so which keyboard and how?

    Mandlebrot
     

    Advertisement

  2. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Sounds silly, but when you installed the keyboard, did you go to Settings /Language and change keyboards?
     
  3. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Yes I went to Settings/Language and ticked the new keyboard. On my Iphone it then just has an extra key on the keyboard which is kind of a globe icon. Once you press this it brings up the Thai keyboard and press again then the next and so on cycling through the different languages or smiley keyboards etc.

    On the Desire there is no extra key and pressing all the other keys like the number or symbols does not bring up the other keyboard. Also if I go into settings/language and try to change the language then I only have a few like Spanish etc. but no Thai.

    Ideally I want to be able to cycle through the languages like on the Iphone or like I've seen on some newer Android phones but at this point would even settle for a complete language change to Thai as this phone is for my girlfriend and she does not read English good.

    Am I doing something wrong or is this not possible on the first generation Desire?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,530
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,530
    15,842
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You say you've downloaded several Thai keyboards. That sounds like separate apps, rather than language packs for the pre-installed keyboard.

    Open a document for editing (a note, or SMS, anything) and long-press the text input field (i.e. where the letters appear). This should bring up a menu, one item of which will be to select the input method. Choose that, then select the Thai keyboard you downloaded.
     
  5. mandlebrot

    mandlebrot Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Wow thanks Hadron, that's sorted it, I couldn't see that instruction anywhere in the install instructions for any of the keyboard apps. :)
     
  6. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,530
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,530
    15,842
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's the way input selection works on Android 2. It's a bit of an Easter Egg - it's probably described in the manual somewhere, but you'd need to know what you are looking for in order to find it.

    It's one thing that Jelly Bean, which I'm now using, does better - when you are typing there's a really obvious "keyboard selection" option in the notifications, rather than it being hidden in a non-obvious menu.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...