1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General That 4.3 Lag...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mykltron, Jan 21, 2014.

  1. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Since that awful 4.3 update my phone takes 3 or 4 seconds to wake the screen and sometimes some of the icons are missing for another second, or they'll disappear for a second after waking. Is there any way to speed this process up? Would one of those CPU control apps do this? (yes, I'm rooted) Nothing else is slow.
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    A cpu app wont do anything useful unless you flash a custom kernel. Have you tried a 3rd party launcher? I recommend Nova Launcher :thumbup:
     
  3. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Is that going to sort that lag then? Can I use the stock icons with Nova?
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Its worth a try.
    Not sure about the icons but theres thousands of icon packs.
    Plus Nova has an option to import your current layout so its pretty painless switching and you can always go back to the stock launcher :thumbup:
     
  5. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Thanks, I'll give it a go.
     
  6. oldnick

    oldnick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    funkylogik likes this.
  7. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Oldnick, are you saying that if I change my baseband version from XXUGMJ9 to I9300XXUGMK6 with the .zip downloaded from here:
    Firmwares | SamMobile
    my phone won't have the lag mentioned in the OP?

    Is this an official update?
    How do I install it?
     
  8. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Seriously, how do I install it? Is it risky? I read through that thread but I didn't understand any of it. This 4.3 lag is really pissing me off now.
     
  9. Muilisx

    Muilisx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,132
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    1,132
    183
    143
    Male
    Owner of Dogs On Wheels
    Long Island, NY
    Did you factory reset after the update? That's known to fix everything.
     
  10. oldnick

    oldnick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    I installed it and it certainly resolved the lag issue for me.

    If I recall I put the zip file on the phone and used recovery to install it.

    I'm not a big phone hack so if I can do so can you.

    Good luck!

    PS - I didn't need to factory reset, it just worked fine after reboot
     
  11. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #107
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,427
    669
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    I'd make sure that's for your exact model first before you flash that.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  12. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
  13. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    The update actually stopped my phone from working and I had to send it away for repairs. It came back factory fresh, so someone did a factory reset.

    I shall give it a go later then. And yes, I've checked multiple times (and shall do so again!) to make sure it's the right version.
     
  14. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    First of all there are no significant differences between lag experienced on a stock ROM to a custom ROM, even with a custom kernel. In my view, all perceived improvements are very marginal and seem to detract from the real issue, which seems to be processor related and linked to the JB 4.3 system builds that Samsung issue.

    If you look around most people experience lag with JB4.3 based ROMs on Samsung models with the Exynos processors but hardly any with models using a Snapdragon. I have two Samsung Exynos based phones, a Note 2 and a S3 and both struggle to a greater or lesser degree with lag, irrespective of ROM (stock based or AOSP/AOKP/CWM) and custom kernels. Since 'upgrading' to JB4.3 I have never been able to completely eradicate this problem. In that regard, JB4.1.2 was miles better.
     
  15. triger

    triger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    123
    9
    36
    Im on jb 4.3 s3 i only experience the lock screen it took time to get back
    i tried factory reset ok after a weeks and its back again
     
  16. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    I tried installing from internal memory and SD card and it always said 'aborting installation'. So far, however, waking the screen seems to happen rather fast.
     
  17. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    I tried a Nandroid backup and factory reset yesterday. It doesn't seem to have fixed anything and when I restored all the data it didn't put it back in /emulated/0 but instead put it in /emulated/0/0, which meant I had to bugger about putting everything in the right place. Fun. Tech doesn't like My-kl.
     
  18. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Restoring a nandroid after a factory reset is kinda pointles mate because it puts everything back how it was. Best to use Titanium etc to backup apps, do the reset in recovery so that it only wipes apps and their data, then restore them with titanium :thumbup:
     
    Mykltron likes this.
  19. nv90210

    nv90210 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014

    Mar 3, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same problem wgen I upgraded to 4.3 a couple of days back....
    While searching on net I found a simple tweak that solved the problem. Dont quite remember where I found the solution to give the credits.
    Just goto developer options from settings and change the value of Windows animation scale, Transition animation scale and Animation duration scale to 0.5x each
     
  20. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Funkylogik, I wondered if Nandroid would do that...

    Thanks. I've made the changes. I'll see what happens over the next couple of days.
     
  21. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Well that totally failed to achieve anything. I've now done a factory reset and reinstalled everything manually. I look forward to discovering I've wasted my time over the next few days...
     
  22. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    Aw...but is was so fun :)

    JM
     
  23. Mykltron

    Mykltron Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011

    Dec 20, 2011
    91
    11
    18
    Looks like the factory reset made it slightly faster. It tends to respond faster when the screen lock is on than it did before so that's the main thing.
     
  24. labeledbass

    labeledbass Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    354
    27
    43
    Male
    Experimentalist
    I had the same issue, noticed two apps were hogging allot of RAM, uninstalled and adjusted my animation to .5 & off accordingly. Have you tried clearing dalvik cache since your rooted?
     

Share This Page

Loading...