1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root The best way?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mpnutty, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    What is the best way to install a ROM?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    I continue to get The ! inside a triangle and am wondering if something is wrong...tried most ROM managers and get the same shite, grrrrrr!!!
     
  3. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    OK getting a bit pissy hear, how the hell can I boot the .img file in recovery...my PC will recognize my device until I run it in fastboot...GRRRRRRRRRRRRR
     
  4. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Flash roms through recovery and don't decompress the zip file.
     
    mpnutty likes this.
  5. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    ok thank you for your input...I have not been unzipping the rom files but
    When I first start in fastboot and it checks SD i get NO IMAGE OR WRONG IMAGE
    and aslo when booting into recovery it hangs up on the HTC "this build is for development purposes only Do not Distribute etc...
     
  6. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    one more thing, in DOS on win I have been using the command...
    fastboot flash boot .zip
    then i get
    sending boot OKAY
    writing boot FAILED <remote image error!
     
  7. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    Those are normal.
    Bootloader checks the root of the sdcard for any updates, which is why you get the error.

    The recovery is probably based on an internal recovery build at HTC, but it works.

    Did you S-off?
     
    mpnutty likes this.
  8. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    noob here... I guess i didn't s-off cuz I'm not sure what that is, please explain.
    Does it have anything to do with clearing the cache? What are the commands either way?
    Thank you for the reply
     
  9. riggerman0421

    riggerman0421 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #398
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    205
    57
    63
    Louisiana
    S-off has not been achieved yet. They are typing the code wrong. Code- fastboot flash boot boot.img. This must be done from the fastboot folder on their pc using a command prompt window.
     
    mpnutty likes this.
  10. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    ok S-ON is what I am showing
    How do I set up the fastboot folder properly?
     
  11. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    please be more specific.
     
  12. riggerman0421

    riggerman0421 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #398
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    205
    57
    63
    Louisiana
    If you have already unlocked your bootloader, you have the fastboot files on your pc. Flash the kernel zip file in recovery. On your pc, open the kernel zip with 7zip, copy the boot.img to your fastboot folder. Reboot your phone into bootloader, select fastboot on your phone and connect to your pc.

    On your pc, open a command prompt window and change directory to your fastboot folder. Type in the following code: "fastboot flash boot boot.img" , without the quotation marks. Make sure you only have the one boot.img, or rename it to whatever you like. I keep several different ones for different roms and have them named for the rom they match. Just replace "boot.img" with whatever you renamed it.
     
    mpnutty likes this.
  13. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    Flashed cwmrecovery.img
    Flashed boot.img
    now when I get into recovery it hangs up on the "HAT" screen no matter what I select
    OMFG!!! I would really like to keep root and run a ROM but wtf have I done wrong?!?!?
     
  14. riggerman0421

    riggerman0421 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #398
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    205
    57
    63
    Louisiana
    Scroll all the way to the bottom, press volume down to loop back to the top. Press volume up, then volume down . Do this a couple times and you will get a notification at the bottom of the screen about menu and power buttons. Now it should work. Or flash TWRP 2.2, I recommend that one.
     
    mpnutty likes this.
  15. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    tried using trwp AGAIN and get --No md5 file found
    on flashing kernel and ROM

    update-got the rom loaded and CWMrecovery running but most of my apps give me the "Unfortunatly "facebook" has stopped."
    been having this problem even with the stock ROM
    updated all apps still no go
    trying to sign into HTC but get "your phone cannot connect to HTC sence"
    grumble grumble
     
  16. mpnutty

    mpnutty Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    61
    3
    16
    Male
    still having trouble with almost all apps crashing. please help Thank you!!

    just did a little googling and found obout revoke3 but not a root that supports the HTC one...
    could S-OFF be my Crashing App issue?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...