1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support The CommServer has Started?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigmaz, May 19, 2014.

  1. bigmaz

    bigmaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    Hi guys, I have a Moto G, and all of a sudden, when I plugged my phone in to charge, it restarted itself, and in the notifications, it had an android icon, and said "The CommServer has Started". And then when I pulled the charger out it restarted again and went back to normal. Please help.... anyone? Was it a hack from an app? It has gone back to normal now, it doesnt happen when I plug it in. It only happened once this morning.

     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,543
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,543
    8,476
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I moved your thread to the Moto G section for for proper support. If you see you don't get enough responses report your thread and we'll move it back to the A Lounge ;)
     
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,543
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,543
    8,476
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    First you can try a different charger. Then also check and see what apps you recently installed, see if you have a Rogue app.
     
  4. bigmaz

    bigmaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    46
    1
    16

    Thanks for moving my thread. I was going to put it in Moto G, but noticed there isnt much traffic in there.

    Anyway, it only done it once, it isnt doing it anymore. And its the same charger I always use. Its plugged directly to a socket, and not a computer. It would be handy to know what the actual message means, and what it does.
     
  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    You are not root-ed?
    It was powered on when you plugged it into the charger?
    It happens every time you plug it into the charger now?

    If the answer to all three questions is yes ... try running in Safe Mode (disabling al apps you added without uninstalling them). If the problem stops it is caused by an app that you added.

    ... Thom
     
  6. bigmaz

    bigmaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    You are not root-ed? - No
    It was powered on when you plugged it into the charger? - Yes
    It happens every time you plug it into the charger now? - No

    It only happened that one time. I cannot recreate the issue.
     
  7. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Since you are root-ed ...

    There are two sub-forums for root-ed Moto G phones. Tell me which is right for you an I will move your thread to that area where other users may be able to help.

    ... Thom
     
  8. bigmaz

    bigmaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    Ah, sorry, I must have read your question wrong, my phone is not rooted
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    In that case ... if it starts happening again ... try running in Safe Mode. As DonB suggested it might be a glitch with the charger.

    So ... wait and see if it happens again.

    ... Thom
     
  10. bigmaz

    bigmaz Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    Ok thanks. So no one has ever seen this message before?
     
  11. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    I just got mine the other day (last Friday), and rooted it right away, but I haven't seen it yet at this point.
     
  12. mj02x

    mj02x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014

    Jun 7, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I have the same problem and yes to all three questions. How do I get into safe mode?
    Thanks in advance
    By the way, ever since commserver came up I can't recharge the phone. It only works if the charger is plugged in.
     
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Enter Safe Mode ...

    While your device’s turned ON, press and hold the Power button.
    When the menu appears, tap on Power off option for a few seconds.
    A prompt should appear asking if you want to reboot into Safe Mode. Hit OK.
    Done

    Exit Safe Mode ...

    Power off/power on

    ... Thom
     
  14. DeathToFlesh

    DeathToFlesh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013

    Feb 6, 2013
    98
    38
    33
    Male
    Nor Cal
    I haven't came across this problem on my xt1031, sounds like there may be a software glitch possibly caused by an app out hardware malfunction?
     
  15. mj02x

    mj02x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014

    Jun 7, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks for the help. It look likes its the charger. I replaced the charger and the problem went away. It appears that Commserver is a diagnostic program within android?
     
  16. iner

    iner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014

    Jul 31, 2014
    1
    0
    5

    I am facing the same issue. I rebooted in safe mode . After sometiome it automatically rebooted to normal mode. Still i have the problem. The commserver app is unable to stop too. Please give me some solution
     
  17. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,016
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,016
    4,978
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    A normal reboot will take it out of Safe Mode ... so it did a normal reboot.

    If it was mine I would be standing in front of the person I bought it from looking for a hardware solution.

    The first thing he/she is gong to ask if you did a Factory Data Reset.

    ... Thom
     
  18. Jleeblanch

    Jleeblanch Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011

    Oct 8, 2011
    14
    4
    16
    Burlington, VT
    So I just stumbled upon this CommServer notification. It appears to be some kind of device test? I'm somewhat curious about this because I've had quite a few Android devices over the years ranging from Moto, Samsung, LG, Asus, and HTC and I've yet to come across this.

    Going to do some more digging on this situation.
     
  19. MrCarrot

    MrCarrot Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    48
    9
    16
    So do we think this is somehow related to which charger is used?

    Because we've already established that some chargers are more reliable than others.

    At first I thought it was a great idea that a charger wasn't provided with the phone to save money. But I'm wondering if it could be a decision that Motorola might live to regret since it seems third party chargers are causing a few different issues (I went through 3 chargers before I found one that actually worked properly with the phone).
     
  20. thege128

    thege128 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    3
    7
    6
    It sounds as if the charger is leaking voltage to one of the pins that normally doesnt have voltage.

    I have a "fastboot" cable, which is designed to push +5vdc to one of the other pins. My original Kindle Fire reacts to this by rebooting into fastboot mode, my Moto G reboots with the CommServer running, as you described above.

    I guess its up to the individual device as to how it reacts, if at all, but a "fastboot" cable is a special USB cable used by technicians to put devices into a special mode for diagnotics and testing. I bought it because my Kindle Fire was bricked, and this special cable is the only way I could get it into fastboot mode so I could reflash it.
     
  21. sindhu vempalle

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015

    Jul 2, 2015
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    i am having the same problem i have tried everything you quoted but nothing works what should i do now
     
  22. Saamarth Gupta

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015

    Sep 20, 2015
    1
    1
    16
    I had the same issue today. For some reason, my device went into bootloop and then crashed, after which my Cache was Being Rebuilt (The Android is Starting Screen). The problem is your Charger. I tried on different phones and all of them responded the same way, then i got hold of a multimeter, and checked the voltage coming out of the charger, it was fluctuating, and going really high.
    Hope this helps!
     
    kskillz likes this.
  23. Calomaxgold

    Calomaxgold Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015

    Jul 19, 2015
    4
    0
    25
    Male
    I had this message on my Moto g 4g this evening when it hasn't been on charge since thi morning. I had been trying to clear the cache but when I went select recovery mode I just get an android on its back with "No Command". Then it starts up normally. So I thought I'd try a factory reset but when I select that it just boots normally. I've rebooted and the Comm Server message has cleared.
     
  24. Hbp885

    Hbp885 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015

    Oct 4, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I have also come across the same problem.. if anyone has solution on it.. pls post it asap.
     
  25. chetan2p

    chetan2p Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016

    Jan 25, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I faced the same problem in my Moto g 1st Gen XT 1099. When I plugged my phone in to charge, it restarted itself, and in the notifications, it had an android icon plus did not detect SIM cards, and said "The CommServer has Started". And then when I pulled the charger out it did not start up. The problem gets repeated when charger was reconnected. So, after reading this forum, changed the charger, and the phone gets got back to normal and is working fine now. So, charger was the issue.
     

Motorola Moto G (1st Gen)

The first generation Moto G was the released in November of 2013. The phone was the first in Motorola's new mid-range line that targeted the sweet spot between specs and pricing. It originally built for emerging markets, but also saw success as a low-priced Android phone option in other parts of the world. The Moto G 1st Gen features Features 4.5-inch LCD display, Snapdragon 400 processor, 16GB storage, 1GB RAM. 5MP rear/1.3MP front facing cameras, and a removable 2,070 mAh battery.

Share This Page

Loading...