1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The desktop clock does not know my location

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by Rudinater, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. Rudinater

    Rudinater Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Road Warrior
    Homeless
    Hello.

    I have had my HTC Evo phone for about a year now. The stock/standard desktop clock has always shown my current location along with the weather data. I travel alot and it always shows my new location. However I have traveled to LA and now it's not showing any location at all. It just states "My Location" under then time.

    I know LA and S. CA. can be a little strange and of the map, but it should still show up as a location:rolleyes:

    Anyway I can get the correct location to show up again.

    Thanks
    Rudy
     

    Advertisement

  2. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Have you tried deleting the clock widget (long press and drag to the garbage at the bottom) and then re-adding it?
     
    Rudinater likes this.
  3. Rudinater

    Rudinater Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010

    Sep 26, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Road Warrior
    Homeless
    While the deleting and readding it self did not fix the problem. When I did it the 2nd time it took me into a setting screen where I could set my location and now it's working.

    Not sure why I had to manually set it this time. I fly all over the country and it has always updated in the past with no problems.
     
  4. kamil99

    kamil99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    i've had this issue lately, and i figured out that the tower in my area is messed up and filed a trouble ticket with t-mobile about it. i have no 3g/4g download coverage at home and the app doesn't track my location, but upload works fine. However, when i drive down the road and pick up a different tower a few towns over, everything works well. this is through t-mobile.
    it's worth a shot to check that out. You might be checking it in spots with gaps in coverage.

    also, hello. i'm kamil. this is my first post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...