1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General The dreaded "Invalid Credentials" for email

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bugger, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    Florida
    Yesterday I sent and email from my phone (live.com account) throught the stock email app and noticed it didn't go through. I did a couple of test and nothing. I removed the account and then put it back on and I could get stuff to send but it would take a little longer. This morning I woke up and got that may live.com acct was not working and I need authentication. When I typed the password it gave me invalid credentials and would not work. I went to remove it and got the same thing. Is there anything I can do other then a factory reset. I have customized my phone, apps, ringtones, etc... and would hate to have to do it all over again.

    I have a droid razr maxx. No problems receiving emails, it was only sending. now I can't do either.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Sharondippity

    Sharondippity Dismember
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Try downloading Hotmail's free email app, I've NEVER had problems with it pushing email to my phone.

    I consistently hear problems with the stock email app.
     
  3. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    Florida
    That's what I did. I downloaded the Hotmail app and it works great. I just can't delete it from the stock email app. Yeah I won't be using the stock email anymore. The more I looked the more problems I saw.
     
  4. Sharondippity

    Sharondippity Dismember
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    I use Yahoo, GMail, and Hotmail apps and never have email issues. I have my stock email disabled altogether.
     
  5. Yoo Shin

    Yoo Shin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

    Jun 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I'm a noob (with this being my first actual post) and I'm having the exact same issue. After doing some searching, it seems common and after spending hours "configuring" my Razr (my first ever android phone), I'd hate to reset everything back to the way it was out of the box. That being said, I didn't realize that it "stock" email software wasn't the only way to send/recieve emails, so I've since install the gmail and yahoo apps that seems to do a quick and reliable enough job (though nothing like my Blackberries).

    Anyways my question is, I still have an @bellsouth.net email that has to use the stock email software, or is there another way?
     
  6. franknbeanz

    franknbeanz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    Yep. I too developed this problem yesterday on a 2 week old phone. I'm pretty disappointed that something like this has happend but I'm hoping that the ICS update will fix it. In the meantime, there are a few other mail options out there but K-9 mail seems to be the heavy favorite and its free. I just installed it yesterday and it will work for me. I'm not big on the interface but it is powerful and the best part .... it works, unlike the stock app.
     
  7. TG1

    TG1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012

    Feb 20, 2012
    52
    6
    16
    My Hotmail that I had going through corporate sync all of a sudden stopped working a few days ago through the stock email app. :thinking: Here's hoping ICS solves this.
     
  8. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    133
    2
    36
    Florida
    I didn't even think ICS could possible fix it. Hopefully it does. If it doesnt, so I have to do a factory reset? If so, should I just do it before ICS or wait until after I get it? I would assume just wait, if I did it after the update, wouldn't it revert back to 2.2?
     
  9. Beach Gail

    Beach Gail Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012

    Jun 22, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Call your provider's tech support for troubleshooting. Had similar problem today with email accounts. Had to wipe clean Droid Maxx and reload. It did work. Took some time.
     
  10. TG1

    TG1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012

    Feb 20, 2012
    52
    6
    16
    ICS update on my Razr fixed this for my Hotmail account on corporate sync. :thumbup:
     
  11. franknbeanz

    franknbeanz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    ICS did NOT fix this for my yahoo email accounts. Guess I'll be doing a restore
     
  12. Sozinho

    Sozinho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012

    Jul 7, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    The ICS upgrade did not help mine, either. I'm still against doing a reset -- how do I know it's not going to happen again? Mine had worked fine for two weeks before going bad.
     
  13. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    Stock email keeps giving a password error. Removed the account and using enhanced email with no problems. ( got it as a free app of the day awhile back).
     
  14. Vicelady

    Vicelady Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012

    Jul 8, 2012
    2
    0
    25
  15. HTTR

    HTTR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    474
    59
    53
    Male
    Virginia
    Unfortunately, i have Verizon....that pulls directly from Yahoo. Sticking with enhanced email for now.
     
  16. golfbiz

    golfbiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    187
    11
    38
    Switched to K9 mail, works great over stock
     
  17. franknbeanz

    franknbeanz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    My wife and I both have the same phone. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I went ahead and did a reset and everything has been working fine so far. With my wife's phone I just went ahead and created a new email connection and used the 'other' option instead of setting up as Yahoo. It doesn't even try to use her old email connection because it doesn't work and so far the new connection is working fine for her on ICS stock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...