1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips The Droid:Bionic can do CMDA/4LTE and GSM/HSPA+ [IMAGE INTENSIVE]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Alex Wekell, May 9, 2012.

  1. DarthAndroid

    DarthAndroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 30, 2014

    May 30, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I know this is an old thread but a friend has recently enlisted my help in moving away from Verizon and going to another carrier. From reading this thread I see straight talk has been the carrier of choice for leaving Verizon. My question is would Net10 or any other carrier supporting AT&T also work just as well? I have Net10 sim cards and I could use that instead of going to an unfamiliar carrier. Thank you for the help and this is a great thread for anyone trying to do this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    I think just the at&t would work
     
  3. mst243

    mst243 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Aug 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Gentlemen,

    I know this thread is pretty old at this point, but I'm trying to set up my Bionic on the Roshan network here in Afghanistan. I can't find the 64-bit version of RadioComm, so I'm sure that's the problem because all I get is the read fail message when I try to read the line 1877. Any help y'all could give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    -Mike
     
  4. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

  5. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,112
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,112
    5,016
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    ... try a USB port on the back of the desktop as opposed to the front panel.

    ... Thom
     
  6. mst243

    mst243 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Aug 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Lars,

    Almost assuredly, I didn't install the drivers correctly because all I did was run the install. How do I go about doing that? Thanks for the help.

    -Mike
     
  7. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    The drivers should be in the link above. Install and do everything from an admin account. After installing the package, plug in the phone and let all the drivers configure before trying to open radio comm again. Then configure the modem type and everything per instructions. It's been a while since I did this on the bionic but it is the same process on the RAZR HD pretty much.
     
  8. mst243

    mst243 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Aug 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Lars,

    Forgive me as I am very much a layman when it comes to this. I installed the drivers and waited for them to install once the phone was plugged in (Thom I tried all 3 USB ports), but it still goes read and says "no device present". You mentioned something about configuring the modem, but I assumed that was just the RadioComm instructions (i.s. Main->MA->CDMA1X etc.). Any troubleshooting advice would be great. Thanks again for bearing with me as I plunder through this.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,112
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,112
    5,016
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Are you using the cable that came with the phone?

    ... Thom
     
  10. mst243

    mst243 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Aug 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    yes, I believe so.
     
  11. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

  12. mst243

    mst243 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014

    Aug 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Debugging was off. Should I try it with it on?
     
  13. goop factory

    goop factory Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014

    Jan 26, 2014
    11
    3
    16
    Male
    Ohio
    OK I want to report that this is by far the easiest swap of phones I've ever done. I received the Verizon Droid Bionic from a family member who was done with it. I already had a Straight Talk BYOD account for my Sprint HTC Evo 4G phone. I called them up and told them I wanted to transfer my account to the Bionic device and they sent me a new sim card. I received the card and called them to activate the card, within 10 minutes they got it switched over. I have 4glte service, everything that the phone could do with Verizon, now with straight talk. I didn't have to use the GSM bands or this or that. just that freaking easy...
     

Share This Page

Loading...