1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root The Eris Has Been OVERCLOCKED!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by andrizoid, May 9, 2010.

  1. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    check it out ;)
    Eris_Official 1.0 Alpha With Controllable Overclocking! [5/9/2010] - xda-developers

    will be trying to get it working on evil eris soon. if not then framework is also working on it.

    If you just CANT wait, go download that ROM from the link, its the only one with OC so far, if its not needed RIGHT this moment, then wait an hour or two until either my or framework releases it for the evil eris rom

    it may take a while, had to do a total reinstall of the mac os on my system so im needed to reinstall all of the dev tools i had. one way or another though, the evil eris will have overclocking in a few hours.
     

    Advertisement

    erisuser1 likes this.
  2. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Jamezelle's Sense-able 3.0 is now out with OC as well.

    This is great.

    Everyone should make sure to set up PROFILES in SetCPU after you install it, select automatic, and reboot. I'm 480-710mhz while on charger, 160-710 while normally operating, and dropped down to max of 480 if I'm over 48 degrees C.

    Works great.
     
    vermithrax423 likes this.
  3. BigBeefy

    BigBeefy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    101
    6
    36
    Knoxville, TN
    this is only for rooted phones?
     
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Yes, this involves a customized Kernel, and in the cases above, an entirely custom ROM flashed via Recovery.

    Certainly not possible without Root.
     
  5. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    308
    25
    43
    I am overclocked and not running any of those roms (though I make boot up senseable 3.0) ....but then again I hang out in the irc channel

    but thanks for the suggestions on settings ...i was wondering what profiles to set and where i should set temp levels ....don't want to fry the phone now that it's OC
     
  6. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    429
    21
    58
    Nashville, TN
    Nice! Will be waiting for the EE2 release

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  7. vermithrax423

    vermithrax423 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I think im just going to wait until EE is working with overclocking, i like the idea but i really like the a2sd right now and i can wait a few hours for OC ... also thanks above for the profiles for setcpu i was wondering about that just wasn't looking yet since it didn't work.
     
  8. Unheard

    Unheard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    24
    7
    16
  9. K0CAW

    K0CAW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    74
    10
    18
    Simulator Technician
    Colorado
    Curse you for dangling that radio in front of me, reminding me I still don't have the money to get one. :D
     
  10. Unheard

    Unheard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    24
    7
    16
    I was looking for you in #droideris so I could flaunt.
     
  11. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
  12. Mechmess

    Mechmess Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    24
    1
    16
    for those of you that have tried it out, what does the overclock feel like? Is the difference noticeable? Battery Drain?
     
  13. Conap

    Conap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    145
    38
    43
    Unheard what settings do you have to get 5mflops? is everyone else getting that high? i'm only getting 3mflops...
     
  14. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    andrizoid -

    FYI, quick update:

    No go so far with apps2sd on Official_1.0_OC (for me at least) - neither ext2 nor ext3. (I did the "tune2fs" conversion on a Linux box; am gonna wipe the SD card right now, repartition and convert with Amon_RA's recovery instead to see if that makes any difference); I'll check the XDA thread to see if anyone else reports similar problems.

    (I know it's not your ROM, but you were recently interested in the progress of a2sd/apps2sd on new releases.)

    eu1
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,644
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,644
    759
    223
    Paul,

    Is apps2sd working for you? jamezelle has a vague note on his XDA post, something like:

    Not clear to me if the 500mb is an upper bound, lower bound, or...

    I'll probably just DL the ROM and try it, but if you see this post soon you could save me some cycles.

    eu1
     
  16. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    308
    25
    43
    Ya i am only gettin 3mflops too
     
  17. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
  18. Unheard

    Unheard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    24
    7
    16
    For those wondering, I'm running Tainted Vanilla with JIT and v17 patch. With my profiles, I hit 5 constantly when awake, and still have over 75% battery after being unplugged since 8am.
     
  19. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    [​IMG]


    Thanks Unheard, whitepaintguy.
     
  20. ferrocene

    ferrocene Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    49
    2
    16
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    EE2.0. Don't know how TV is so fast, it's the same CPU running the same CPU test! Software can't speed up the CPU, can it? :p
     
  21. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Anyone with the v18 or v17 OC Kernel would be able to OC any leakv3. I have my gf on jcase's original leakv3root ROM with the v18 kernel running at 710mhz.

    I went to Ivan's, and Ivan's ROM is WAY faster than the stock leakv3root.

    eu1,
    I haven't used apps2sd, as I haven't even close to run out of space for my apps yet. I may mess around with it when I have some time, just to see how it works, but I haven't attempted to set it up yet.


    And 5mflops comes from JIT's, as stated.

    3-3.1mflops is what I get on 710mhz. Going 767 and JIT's could easily make 5mflops.

    But I love me some SenseUI, and the 767 kernel I saw didn't have wifi working (looks like his does?).

    AND, not that anyone cares, but it's my Birthday, and I'm making my gf take me to Chuck-E-Cheese. That's WAY better than 5 mflops.
     
  22. abn75

    abn75 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    75
    10
    18
    alabama
    I have to say i flashed this ROM and I am loving it so far. Very stable, no issues that I have noticed as of yet. Of course I may try out a few others, but I'm thinking I will be sticking with this one, at least until the OTA comes out and gets rooted.
     
  23. fritzel67

    fritzel67 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    67
    4
    16
    Nashville, TN
    @pko Happy Belated B-day.

    Anyone know what the mflops are for a non-overclocked Eris?
     
  24. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    I just got 2.189 on v3 non-rooted ROM. :(
     
  25. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    699
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    699
    154
    113
    Automotive Electrical Technician / Mechanic
    I'm a drifter.. here and there.
    Thats actually not bad. My gf used to get 1.7 - 1.8 on her V3.
     

Share This Page

Loading...