1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The Galaxy Task Manager

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by franhound, Feb 7, 2014.

  1. franhound

    franhound Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    55
    2
    16
    Male
    [​IMG]

    Okay, I understand that task killers do more harm than good. But TouchWiz has their built in one. And I'm just wondering. Is this built in task manager/killer any different from third party ones? Does it work differently, and does it actually make any benefits? Samsung owners out there, I beg knowledge from your experiences. The phone I'm using is a Galaxy Win, also known as the Galaxy Grand Quattro.
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I think that will do exactly the same as a 3rd party one mate. The worst kind of task killers are the automated ones though. Theyre completely pointless.
    I dont know why samsung included that. Maybe they thought users wanted it The only time i use a task killer is before running a benchmark and i have the same RAM as you.
    Its not a thing you should need to use much
     
    El Presidente and Crashdamage like this.
  3. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    I like the task manager as it gives me control and useful information, also being able to kill all tasks instead of tediously swiping away at each of them is nice.
     
  4. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,751
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    You should never need to use it. Samsung should not have included the thing.
     
  5. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    I've needed to use it numerous times to close apps that are not responding so can't agree with you there.

    If you could guarantee all apps on the play store were bug free then id agree with you.
     
    PaulS likes this.
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,245
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Good point man although its very rare that i have to do that
     
  7. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,751
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Android by default includes a task manager for the very rare instance of an app that is malfunctioning so badly that it will not close by swiping it away. I haven't use it for probably a couple of years. Any kind of 3rd party task manager is just totally unnecessary.

    The RAM manager the OP shows a screenshot of should never, ever be needed. Including such stuff just tempts people to use them and causes confusion.
     
  8. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    The stock manager includes recently used apps, the Samsung task manager includes only active apps.

    If I glanced at the stock task manager I wouldn't know if an application was still running or not.

    I agree the clear memory option isn't really needed, I don't think I've ever needed to use that.
     
  9. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,751
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Settings > Apps > Running. Shows only active apps and processes.
     
  10. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    But that shows all running apps including system and startup apps running in the background, that's not very user friendly.

    The Samsung task manager excludes them and is available at the press of a button.

    Personally I think Google should change the recently used apps menu to show only active apps, or maybe add on option in settings so the user can select what they want to see there.
     
  11. franhound

    franhound Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    55
    2
    16
    Male
    Okay, I'll take all your advice and not click on that "Clear memory" button. But how do I prevent the RAM from getting that crowded? It's just fine when fresh from a reboot, but gets more than 90% full eventually through time, despite the list being the same.

    If an app is causing this problem, how can I track down that app?
     
  12. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,751
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    High RAM usage is both normal and desirable. In Android/Linux unused RAM is wasted RAM. Recent versions of Windows have finally seen the wisdom in this and adopted similar RAM handling.

    IOW - don't worry about RAM. Relax and enjoy your phone.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  13. franhound

    franhound Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    55
    2
    16
    Male
    Okay, thanks for the advice.

    Just another question. What's your experience on services that look like this? The one with the "restarting" dialog.

    [​IMG]

    Does it drain the battery? Does it flood on the CPU? If it does, what can I do about it? Either prevention or cure would be appreciated.
     
  14. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,751
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Offhand, I don't know why the task manager is listed as 'Restarting'. Maybe because you're using it? But I wouldn't worry unless it shows it's causing a high drain in Settings > Battery.
     
  15. franhound

    franhound Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    55
    2
    16
    Male
    No, I am not using it. But, okay, I'll monitor it on the "Battery" section in settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...