1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General The Intercept 2.2 Froyo update thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kcmartz, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. kcmartz

    kcmartz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    216
    13
    58
    School
    Olympia, Washington, USA
    So, you installed the 2.2 update for the Intercept? If so about what time did it come for you? What time zone to figure out for me...

    * you have no device in your post side info, how do I know this isn't a spam post? *
     

    Advertisement

  2. ClubSteeler

    ClubSteeler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    163
    19
    38
    I have to do something? The text made it sound like it would happen. If we have to do something, I'd assume they would text us instructions.

    As of now, my phone is back to functioning normally, but still no OS update.
     
  3. Jenny Z

    Jenny Z Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    You'll get a popup of some sort that will ask you if you want to update now or later. Be patient, and try reading the 2 or 3 other threads about it in this forum.
     
  4. stef7

    stef7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1,066
    136
    153
    Male
    Systems Engineer
    I'm anticipating a new text message with a link to follow that initiates the download or takes me to a page that tells me how to initiate it. After that point, if I didn't follow the link from the text message, I imagine I'd be able to go into my Settings and System Status and Update Android to update my phone that way.
     
  5. kcmartz

    kcmartz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    216
    13
    58
    School
    Olympia, Washington, USA
    I called VM and got more info.

    The lady that answered said I'd get an email and i'd follow instructions on that page, download something to my computer and transfer to SD card.

    YWIA! :)
     
    pastafarian likes this.
  6. animefanboy

    animefanboy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010

    Oct 15, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    hmmmmm if you get this can you share with us on the forms :)
     
  7. Tim0666

    Tim0666 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011

    Apr 4, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    weird that they said that when the guy i talked to in india said text message... do they know what the hell their talkin about at all
     
  8. PimpinEZ

    PimpinEZ Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    166
    75
    63
    just got my update and it failed

    e:error in /cache/54dbc743fd5b.update-sph-m910_0TA_DI06toEC07.zip
     
    pastafarian likes this.
  9. biggpat86

    biggpat86 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    225
    16
    38
    IT Professional
    DFW, Texas
    @tim, IMO, hell no. VM, least of all their customer service, has no damn idea. their massively outsourced center most likely located in the Phillipines, all their reps seem to just come up with crap on the fly with the sole intention of getting you off the phone. but for 25 a month... you get what you pay for right? o_O
     
  10. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    "A system update is available..."

    11:27 PM west coast time...:)

    Phones rebooting as I type :)
     
    pastafarian likes this.
  11. e2the2nd

    e2the2nd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    15
    52
    33
    I just got it as well
    Android 2.2.2

    It was roughly 1am EST. Took 10 minutes total.
    Didnt have to reinstall any apps. Took my memo app, which I liked.
    I dont like to new bar at the top. The App store does NOT look any better.
    Dont like the fade in on the launcher to get to my apps.
    I LOVE having more home screen space. Dont want an app for that.
    I like the new Where app.
    I havent dropped and data signal. I would usually surf then, BAM, no data.Hasnt happened yet (knock on wood).
    It is snappier IMO
    I cant find the option to install to SD. I wanna remove ALOT of apps to put them back on the sd card but cant find the options.

    Overall I am a happy camper....so far


    Android version 2.2.2
    Baseband version S:M910.05 S.EC07
    Kernel version 2.6.32.9
    Build number FROYO.EC07
    Hardware version M910.05
     
  12. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    After update moved 30+meg of apps to the SD card - :)

    Then downloaded "Angry Birds Rio - runs beautifully - like a new phone!

    Very happy with the update - huge difference.
     
  13. kcmartz

    kcmartz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    216
    13
    58
    School
    Olympia, Washington, USA
    Update NEVER came for me today...

    But it said STARTING i might get it within next couple days...
     
  14. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    No email - I was greeted by an notification when I turned my phone on on the homescreen - stated an update was ready to be applied.

    Heres a little proof that Im just not goofing around. The new lock-screen:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. magohn

    magohn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    519
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    519
    42
    68
    New lock-screen:
    [​IMG]
     
  16. EdAndInn

    EdAndInn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    189
    45
    43
    :D

    Congratulations! This is an epic moment for you and all of us!

    Could you please post Frimware version, Baseband version, Kernel version and Build number too? It should be under Hime -> Menu -> Settings -> About phone -> scroll down


    It would be great if you provide more screen shots.

    Could you please also make video and post it on Youtube if possible?

    :)
     
  17. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,622
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    5,622
    4,625
    623
    Sales
    The Sea of Tranquility
    Since the update is dropping, there's bound to be a ton of posts about it. Let's try to keep it in one place.
    So, if you've received the update?
    How long did it take?
    Issues?
    Experiences?
    Happy?????
     
  18. PatrickD88

    PatrickD88 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Android version 2.2.2
    Baseband version S:M910.05 S.EC07
    Kernel version 2.6.32.9
    Build number FROYO.EC07
    Hardware version M910.05
     
  19. ClubSteeler

    ClubSteeler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    163
    19
    38
    It's FRoyo day!!! BRICKED...
    Turn on my phone, psyched for the update...

    It boots... Never updates the clock, never connects.
    I can run apps, but they can not connect to the network.
    When I try to make a phone call, it says: Not registered on the network.

    On the top of my screen, all it shows is the batery, and a circle with a slash in it.

    The phone is useless right now.

    UPDATE...
    Maybe not... I put it in flight mode, then back to normal mode. The phone seems to operating normally now. Nothing update related has happened yet.
     
    pastafarian likes this.
  20. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    We need someone to logcat before downloading that way we can get the URL for the upgrade so we can download the update.zip.
     
  21. shesnotfamous

    shesnotfamous Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    i REALLY want this update! ive been waiting patiently since yesterday and still nothing :-(
     
  22. harvickchick

    harvickchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    360
    13
    38
    Female
    Kernersville, NC
    the "system update" pop up message thing was waiting for me when i woke up :)
    Took not even 5 minutes I don't think. I LOVE the new lock screen. The only thing I don't care for is the addition of two new apps you can't get rid of "where" and "news & weather"...BUT the ability of moving apps to the SD card so makes up for it's extra crap. I moved all of em over that I could and redownloaded AB Rio & Fruit Ninja (these were huge apps before that slowed my phone down) over to the SD card and every thing is running smoothly :D
    I also love the new look of the messaging!!

    YAY!
     
  23. harvickchick

    harvickchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    360
    13
    38
    Female
    Kernersville, NC
    Sorry I can't be any help with that :( the only camera/video camera I have IS the phone hahah
     
  24. harvickchick

    harvickchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    360
    13
    38
    Female
    Kernersville, NC
    I noticed some apps install automatically to SD (I downloaded like 5 ones I had before) and some don't. If you go into manage applications then click on the app there's a move to SD/phone button! :) You don't have to uninstall/reinstall at all!
     
  25. ctyt

    ctyt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    My VM Intercept has the stock rom, but with a custom kernel and recovery. How can I be ready for the update?
     

Share This Page

Loading...