1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The "Linux questions (and other stuff)" thread

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MoodyBlues, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    6,762
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    6,762
    25,776
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Whether couched as head-bumping or futzing, it seems as though I’m facing a probable driver issue.

    Sound isn’t working, although Mint seems to think it is. Even the “test sound “ does nothing. There are no physical switches on this laptop relating to sound/volume, which is why I’m thinking about futzing and head-bumping.

    I’ll first check bios, though, because it’s always possible it’s disabled there.

    At least I know I can download the driver over WiFi. ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    I recall having sound issues with Mint... as I recall, the sound was muted by default... ah, it was specifically with the BT interface.
     
  3. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    6,762
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    6,762
    25,776
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Well, that was way more frustrating than it should have been.

    I started in BIOS since I thought there might be something there. Nothing really stood out, so I figured it was a Linux issue.

    The driver appeared to be correct (among other things the input was correctly bouncing back and forth when I'd insert headphones -- also no sound on them of course), so I did a google search and didn't really find anything specific. When I broadened my horizons, though, I found this youtube video entitled "solving sound problems: Linux Mint (should you deign to watch it, do yourself a favor and mute sound first (ironic, I know...):
    Code (Text):
    1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkBT0YKizDM
    (embedded as code since I didn't want to embed the stupid video). And yes, as a Linux noob I was a little wary of editing a config file, but sudo'd myself up for the challenge and HEY, other than getting an error on the added line while trying to reload the config (surprise, the video leaves out one step!) guess what? Still no sound. (After editing the line and eliminating the error, still no sound, so I undid the changes.)

    Then I went back to BIOS. I had turned off the "system beep" (I mean who really wants to hear the stupid laptop beep just because it's POSTing?) so on a whim I turned it back on.

    Guess what? Mint Login Sound. Hey, SOUND!

    Sheesh.

    Three hours or so later, the moronity is palpable. :D ;)
     
    MoodyBlues, Dngrsone and lunatic59 like this.
  4. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    6,762
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    6,762
    25,776
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    BTW, this is my go-to sound test with headphones/earbuds (the channel separation is excellent) and it sounds terrific...and this one I don't mind embedding:

     
    #2829 rootabaga, Feb 11, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
    MoodyBlues and Dngrsone like this.
  5. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Well, my second hiccup (or hiccough, if you prefer) involved Discovery (the KDE Neon version of SSOftware Center) dying right off the bat.

    Turned out, that my Logitech Universal Receiver required an update, and somehow that borked Discovery.

    Next up: Firefox Multi-Account containers not allowing me to log into KDE Identities...
     
  6. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    6,762
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    6,762
    25,776
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Ah, yes. Installations from the command line.

    I decided not to try and learn yet another office suite of applications. I use Open Office on Windows and Mac, so I decided to forego the Libre that is preinstalled with Mint. Time will tell. ;)
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,928
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,928
    39,300
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I haven't used OO of a PC in ages, but isn't Libre the same thing only better? ;)
     
    MoodyBlues and GameTheory like this.
  8. rootabaga

    rootabaga Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,473
    Posts:
    6,762
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014

    Aug 11, 2014
    6,762
    25,776
    2,473
    More or less IT, lots of hand-holding
    Crazyville, CA
    Isn't Micro$oft Office the same thing, only better? Especially for Micro$oft shareholders? ;)
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,928
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,928
    39,300
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Only the Apple version. :p
     
  10. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Its backstory has become fuzzy in my brain, but this is how I think of it, too. Like OpenOffice morphed into LibreOffice...or something. :thinking:
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,928
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,928
    39,300
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Like Redhat desktop became Fedora.
     
  12. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    OpenOffice was bought by Apache, who promptly lost most of their staff. Libre Office is an as-yet-still open-source fork of OO. With that in mind, I feel LO is better maintained than OO.
     
    MoodyBlues and lunatic59 like this.
  13. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Here's a "scratch our collective heads" puzzle--which doesn't require a solution. It's just for fun. :)

    Some videos I took shortly before my mom died (in March 2013) have very funny timestamps. These would've been taken with my Moto Atrix 2; I transferred all of its files when I got my Moto X 2nd Generation. And, recently, when I got my Moto Z² Force Edition, I transferred everything over to it. At some point along the way, I also copied these videos to my network's hard drives.

    The screenshots show one video's details on the Moto X and then the Moto Z. Notice anything weird about their timestamps? :D

    2019-02-15 15.37.25-1.png

    2019-02-15 12.12.03.png

    On the X, the 2015 date was probably when I copied it over from the Atrix. But on the Z...WTF is up with the 'date taken' in 1947?! :eek:

    I didn't bother including screenshots from my computers, but when these videos' properties are viewed there, their timestamps are correct.

    Any ideas what's up here?
     
  14. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,928
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,928
    39,300
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Were you in a Delorean when you took those videos? ;)
     
    Davdi, MoodyBlues, Dngrsone and 2 others like this.
  15. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    I suspect that your phone's file manager is misreading the metadata
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  16. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Ha ha, no, Mom was stuck in her hospital bed in her room by then. Good theory, though! :D
     
  17. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Good theory, but it's not a file manager, it's a photo app.
     
  18. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    26,375
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    26,375
    15,533
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    What about other photo apps, are they reading the same “1947" metadata?
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  19. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    I'll have to install some to see. I've been on an austerity program when it comes to apps on my new phone. I'm trying to avoid ending up with dozens of apps I never use...and sometimes don't even recall what they're for! Just trying to keep the new phone clean.
     
    Dngrsone and LV426 like this.
  20. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    So I went to the Play store to find some photo apps; I tried one called "Gallery" (from SB Studio) that was so ad-laden I couldn't delete it fast enough! (Why do they think making an ad-riddled free version--which gives the user a terrible experience--will entice people to upgrade to the paid version? This may have been an awesome app, but I'll never know!)

    Then, thinking of my computers, I searched for "digiKam"--and ended up at "F-Stop Gallery." A few minutes of using the free version (no ads!, just not full-featured) convinced me to buy the paid version, F-Stop Gallery Pro--and I've lost myself in it! It's a really good app.

    Oh--it doesn't replicate the 1947 date; I think it was just "Amazon Photos" that did that.
     
    mikedt, GameTheory and lunatic59 like this.
  21. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,901
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    LV426 and MoodyBlues like this.
  22. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    They look interesting; I hadn't heard of either, so, no, I haven't tried them yet.

    I like the full name of the fff one! :eek: :D
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  23. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    I am getting used to dolphin, though there are a few things I have to fix, such as "as root" functions
     
  24. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,777
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,777
    3,235
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Although Dolphin is my default file manager, I do anything 'root' at a command line, so I probably can't help, but what issues are you having?
     
  25. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,428
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,428
    4,238
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    There used to be an "as root" submenu, and it was dropped some time ago. I have to download a tool to restore it to dolphin, is all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...