1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The "Linux questions (and other stuff)" thread

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MoodyBlues, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Debated whether to put this here or in Android Lounge. :thinking:

    I discovered, and started using, KDE Connect recently. It involves installing the app on your Android device, and its matching program on your Linux computer.

    I don't recall anything extraordinary or unusual about setting it up. I just installed both programs, they saw each other on the network, I paired them, and that was that. Some of its features didn't work, but I hadn't had a chance to investigate.

    Then it stopped working. The phone said the computer wasn't reachable, and the computer showed no paired devices. A reboot of the laptop brought it back to life.

    But now it's just not working. Neither device sees the other; I'm told all devices must be on the same network (they are); in its KDE settings, where there used to be the phone's name on the left and a list of its features to choose from on the right, is now completely blank.

    On the phone, I've tried manually connecting using the laptop's IP address, to no avail.

    I've cleared cache/data, forced stop, uninstalled and reinstalled the app. Nada.

    I've uninstalled and reinstalled the Linux program. Zip.

    I've disconnected/reconnected to the network, in various combinations. Zilch.

    Ideas? I'm fresh out of them. It's a really cool app; its features that did work were useful and/or fun. I'd like to keep using it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,959
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,959
    13,402
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    Seems like other people are having problems with it too. Have you tried messaging the devs?

     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  3. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    No, not yet. I had started looking around online before my little [hospitalization] adventure, and am just now getting back to it. Was hoping someone here might have some ideas, first.

    It's frustrating. It reminds me of the bane of my existence, window$ boxes I had to administer at my final job. Some bizarre, inexplicable, totally illogical thing would come up, and it was like...WTF do I do when EVERYTHING is already correctly configured?! :rolleyes:
     
  4. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,418
    4,221
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    So, what kind of things does it do?

    Considering I have an Android phone and KDE (currently Neon) laptop, I might be interested in trying it out.

    ***Edit: Already installed in Neon. Added it to my phone, and it works.

    First issue I discovered is that although both devices were connected to the same network, since my AP has two different nodes (2.5GHz, 5GHz), they both have to be attached to the same node.

    In other words, if my lappy is on network Bing, then the phone also has to be connected to wifi Bing, even though wifi Crosby is part of the same network.

    Yeah I just wrote that sentence and it doesn't even make sense to me.

    Just make sure you are using the same AP (frequency/name) for both.
     
    #2879 Dngrsone, Mar 22, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2019
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  5. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    It's cool, right? Do all of its phone features work for you? They didn't for me. Sending files worked great, as did phone notifications popping up on the computer's screen. But gestures (moving the computer's pointer, for example) didn't work at all.

    Yes, they're definitely on the same network. There's only one, and it's the same one it was working on before. No idea why it stopped. :(
     
  6. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,418
    4,221
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Hrm. No idea, unless your phone ID is hidden, maybe?

    I haven't done much with it yet. Ring the phone works, so does transfer from phone to computer. Learning how to add folders for the computer to access; I suppose it's too much to expect to be able to move books from Calibre to the device, but it's something I'll ry to make work.
     
  7. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,418
    4,221
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    So, tried reconnecting to the computer using KDE Connect. No joy.

    I had to change networks for it to recognize the computer. Slow AF tho-- the lag when say, surfing my camera folder, and then opening a pic...

    Apparently, you can do this via BT now, too, but it hasn't worked for me so far. I want it to work, though! I never have my wifi on (on the phone, that is).
     
  8. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    #2883 GameTheory, Mar 25, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2019
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  9. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,959
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,959
    13,402
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    No still on Java 8. But I should also upgrade.
    I tend to stay with OpenJDK, as there's no chance of infringing Oracle's licensing in some way.
    Thanks for the links.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  10. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Gonna try upgrading to java 11(though just saw 12 is available) tonight or tomorrow morning. I'll post back with the results.
     
  11. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,959
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,959
    13,402
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    Cheers. Be interested to know if you hit any problems.
     
  12. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Hidden? Hidden where/how? :eek:

    Nothing changed from one day--when KDE Connect worked, to the next--when neither the phone nor laptop can see each other.

    I've done some looking around online, but nothing applies to, or helps, me. :(
     
  13. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    That's weird. So, what, it just stopped working? Neither device could see the other?

    Unfortunately, I can't change networks. I just have the one they both worked fine with...and then didn't.
    Mine was very fast...for the features that worked, like file transfers...until it inexplicably stopped working.
     
    Dngrsone likes this.
  14. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    If you feel this shouldn't be here, let me know and I'll remove it. (it's for linux users)

    So I finally updated my linux system to java 11 from 8. All went smoothly. Did some quick testing and all seems fine.

    Some things to note... Prior to java 11 there would be around a couple years in between major java updates with patches in between. That has all changed. Now Oracle has introduced LTS releases with java updates every 6 months.

    Java 11 is an LTS while 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 will not be. 17 will be the next LTS. Going from say 8 to 11 you shouldn't encounter any major issues if any, but skipping from 11 to 17 can cause major issues.

    For the regular everyday user, the above means nothing. For a developer you can see how this new update format can be a problem. There's too much info to cover here so I'll leave some links with plenty of info.

    Here's a quick tut to update:

    For OpenJDK 11:
    Code (Bash):
    1. sudo add-apt-repository ppa:openjdk-r/ppa
    2. sudo apt update
    3. sudo apt install openjdk-11-jdk
    For Oracle JDK 11:
    If you wish to get rid of OpenJDK run the following to purge it:
    Code (Bash):
    1. sudo apt purge openjdk*
    If updating from Oracle JDK 8 or prior, delete the following directory.
    (You can back it up first if you like and remove its repo)
    Code (Text):
    1. /usr/lib/jvm/oracle java folder
    Now install Oracle JDK...
    Code (Bash):
    1. sudo add-apt-repository ppa:linuxuprising/java
    2. sudo apt update
    3. sudo apt install oracle-java11-installer
    Oracle JDK 11 should be set as default automatically, but if not run the following:
    Code (Bash):
    1. sudo apt install oracle-java11-set-default
    Useful info links:
    https://blog.joda.org/2018/10/adopt-java-12-or-stick-on-11.html
    https://blog.codefx.org/java/java-11-migration-guide/
    https://www.baeldung.com/oracle-jdk-vs-openjdk
     
    LV426, MoodyBlues and lunatic59 like this.
  15. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    It definitely belongs here. :) Thanks for your informative post.

    I haven't updated any of my Javas in a million years! And unless a really compelling reason comes up, I won't be any time soon. :eek:

    :) :D :)
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  16. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,418
    4,221
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    I may have to, myself... I'm looking at a utility that needs Java and I don't think I even have Java 8 in KDE Neon.

    Meanwhile, I am about to break my laptop in grand fashion: upgrading to an SSD and switching out the optical for a secondary HDD.

    Waiting on a battery and a touchpad before I actually crack it open, though.

    The bottom line will be: I will have to install win 10, Mint xfce and KDE Neon, and rEFInd fresh onto the new SSD, so things may go wrong very quickly.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  17. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    MoodyBlues likes this.
  18. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    I didn't vote--I can't recall ever using a screen recorder. :eek: Of course, 'ever' is a long time, so who knows?
    Have you tried my favorite, KSnapshot? Nothing else I've tried comes close, but YMMV. :D
    Thanks for the heads-up! It's been a long time since I popped in over there.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  19. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    I haven't jumped into the kde realm "yet", so I haven't, but it seems identical(features) to gnome screenshot, but with a different theme.

    It's funny, I loathe gnome, but love some gnome apps which I install regardless of distro.
     
  20. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,624
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,624
    3,075
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    KSnapshot's feature I rely on most is its auto-incrementing of file names as you're saving them. Comes in super-handy when saving a bunch of related images. You can, of course, change its suggested name.
    Yeah, I basically loathe GNOME, too, but it does have some programs I prefer to their KDE counterparts, most notably gParted.
     
    Dngrsone and GameTheory like this.
  21. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,959
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,959
    13,402
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
  22. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,418
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,418
    4,221
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Very interesting...
    Of course, I prefer Linux, so I'm more inclined to go the wine route when I need to use a windows program... when it works, which is about a 30% success rate with me.
     
    MoodyBlues and GameTheory like this.
  23. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    lunatic59, MoodyBlues and Dngrsone like this.
  24. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,959
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,959
    13,402
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    I know. It pains me to say that I'm forced to use Win at work. Can't convince Mordac the preventer of IT services to let me dual boot.
     
  25. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    It was the same for me with wine till I started using playonlinux(POL) which uses wine. POL seems to configure wine a bit better which gives me a better success rate, though I only use Adobe Photoshop & Illustrator these days on linux.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...