1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The "Linux questions (and other stuff)" thread

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MoodyBlues, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Lol at this^^^
     

    Advertisement

  2. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    I got POL once, something like a decade ago... didn't work out for my issue at the time.

    My current requirement is Adobe Digital Editions... I suppose I could give it a go again... if I can dig up my password, etc.
     
  3. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    lunatic59 and MoodyBlues like this.
  4. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Thanks. I'll have to try again.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,957
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,957
    13,398
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    I knew you would get it GT.
    Here's Mordac at work for those who don't read Dilbert

    mordac.gif
     
  6. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Really? I've had 100% success using wine...of course, I've used it with exactly one program, Roller Coaster Tycoon. :)

    It ran like a dream--smooth, fast, responsive, etc.

    What programs have you tried? I'm just curious.
     
    Dngrsone and GameTheory like this.
  7. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Ugh! Are they not aware that Linux is vastly superior to window$ in virtually every conceivable way?

    As I've said before, administering a few window$ boxes was part of my last job--and the absolute bane of my existence. From its lack of system tools to its slowing down like frozen molasses, it was just unbearable.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  8. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Well, the aforementioned ADE for a start: no-worky at all. C&C and Diablo kind of work, but resolution differences and translation between old Win video drivers and X make for some ugly and sometimes muddied video.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  9. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

  10. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    GameTheory likes this.
  11. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    So, I've tried several times, several different methods nd several different versions to get ADE working. Big fat no go...
     
  12. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    So the method GT linked to didn't work? How/when did it fail?
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  13. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    It did, once. Then I couldn't get it to come back.

    I have done what I could to remove everything for another try and figure out what I did wrong. Meanwhile the ADE installation on my Win 10 partition no longer shows anything in the library, and I can't download anything else. I'm wondering if it's because I have too many computers registered now or something.
     
  14. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Please post, as specifically as possible, exactly what happens when you try following those instructions. I definitely can't help you--I use neither wine nor ADE--but someone else probably can.
     
    GameTheory likes this.
  15. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    I'm thinking about upgrading my System76 laptop. But I'm unsure about jumping straight from Kubuntu 14.04 to either 18.04 or 18.10, which are the most recent versions available.

    When I used to actually update my computers, it was one version up each time--not FOUR.

    Should it go smoothly? Would it be better to step up first?

    Keep in mind, I'm the one with one PC still running 6.10 (I think), and 9.10 on another desktop. Upgrading lost its appeal somewhere along the way. There's really no good reason to do this upgrade...or not--that I know of. So what do you think?
     
    #2915 MoodyBlues, Apr 16, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
  16. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #41
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,607
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    You can upgrade from one LTS to another, 16.04 to 18.04, but I don't think it's possible to go from 14.04 directly to 18.04. You'd have to upgrade to 16.04 first.

    If you're not big on upgrading I'd stay on 18.04 until 20.04 is released.
     
    MoodyBlues, GameTheory and bcrichster like this.
  17. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,795
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,795
    5,185
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Agreed, I'd stick w 18.04 also since it's reliable and 19.04 is one I consider to not really be ready to build with since it's so new. I usually wait about 6mo to a full year after release before even consider updating the whole distro to give their Developers time to work out the bugs anyways
     
    MoodyBlues, kate and GameTheory like this.
  18. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    3,899
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    I agree with kate and bcrichster. You should go with 18.04 as I think 18.10 is only supported for 9 months(rolling release). 18.04 is currently at its 2nd point release(18.04.2) so it's very stable. When upgrading to the latest LTS you should always wait for the 1st point release(ie. 18.04.1) as initial bugs are sorted by then. If you keep up with upgrades, they are painless and only take like 10 minutes.

    As mentioned by kate, you'll have to do an upgrade to 16.04 first, then 18.04 next, but well worth it. ;)
     
    LV426, MoodyBlues, kate and 1 other person like this.
  19. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    6,795
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    6,795
    5,185
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Absolutely! That way you can keep the older Javas.. You can't easily get Java 6 & 7 easily anymore and upgrading the versions will be your only chance to keep them, if you so desire. Ubuntu 18.04 comes with java8 (I think) and the older ones are totally unavailable for installation from there
     
    GameTheory and MoodyBlues like this.
  20. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,957
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,957
    13,398
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    Security patches?
     
    GameTheory, kate and lunatic59 like this.
  21. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    That's assuming the machine spends any time online.
     
  22. Dngrsone

    Dngrsone Android Expert
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    4,421
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    4,421
    4,227
    653
    Male
    Avionics Technician
    Centrally located far from everywhere, CA
    Okay, got ADE working in Linux. Now all I need is the DRM key.
     
    MoodyBlues likes this.
  23. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Eh... I have everything pretty much locked down, from WiFi to my network, and everything in between, like each individual computer. Even the 6.10 box has never had any sort of foul play, and its security patches are 13 years old--and it's been continuously connected to the Internet all along.

    Yes, of course, there's always a first time. But I've got that covered, too, including multiple off-site, current backups and freezes at the three main credit bureaus. I'm not worried. *shrug*
     
  24. MoodyBlues

    MoodyBlues - Crazy peacock person -
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    673
    Posts:
    4,632
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011

    Jan 27, 2011
    4,632
    3,087
    673
    Formerly Linux sysadmin/programmer
    $HOME/LosAngeles
    Excellent! I'm really happy to hear that. :D
    No help from me, sorry.
     
  25. LV426

    LV426 I say we take off and nuke this place from orbit
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    1,988
    Posts:
    8,957
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015

    Oct 16, 2015
    8,957
    13,398
    1,988
    Male
    Software developer
    South West of England
    Sounds like you're on the ball there. But I do like to stay bang up to date, because these days, web browsers can be a significant security hole in your system. They do suffer from security flaws, which are exploited, and regular patches can minimise that risk. If your system's not up to date, it won't be receiving any security patches, including for the application packages which are installed. These days I wouldn't want to be browsing the web with an old browser.
     
    GameTheory and MoodyBlues like this.

Share This Page

Loading...