1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

General The (maybe) "Epic" Motorola X Pre-Release Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. landolakes

    landolakes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    89
    17
    18
    Gnex alum and I just checked and I have two upgrades available. Question, I have two phones with both lines available for upgrade. One line is unlimited and the other is not. Could I upgrade the limited line and switch the phone over to the unlimited and later transfer the unlimited line update at a later date to the limited line. I'm on Verizon, I hope that made sense.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,118
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,118
    47,122
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    IIRC VZW shut that down. I think you are limited to using upgrades on the line that is eligible, and can no longer play around with them.
     
  3. egDonald

    egDonald Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    139
    20
    58
    Male
    Elk Grove, CA
    If you're getting one of the standard colors, I'd assume you can just get the 32 at the att store, couldn't you?
    I thought Moto Maker was only for color customizations.
     
  4. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Moto maker let's you change the storage which is why att exclusive 32 is timed until moto Maker for every one
     
  5. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,583
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,583
    1,904
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I don't believe that you are correct on this one. I spent a portion of my day today talking with both online VZW CSR and on phone with them. I received the same answer from both. I can move my upgrade to my tiered data line then move it back after the upgrade keeping my unlimited data.

    Here is a post and a thread discussing the topic as well.

    http://androidforums.com/motorola-d...roid-maxx-pre-release-thread.html#post6049762


    ONLINE CHAT WITH VZW CSR
    You are now chatting with 'Miranda'
    Jeff: I have an upgrade coming up soon (8/15) am I able to transfer that upgrade to another line (my son's line) and use it there?
    Miranda: Hi! My name is Miranda with the Verizon Wireless Sales Team. I am available to answer your questions and help you place an order. May I have your name, please?
    Miranda: You sure can transfer upgrade.
    Jeff: Awesome! Does it matter that my line has grandfathered unlimited data and his is a 2GB plan?
    Miranda: If you upgrade the line that has unlimited data you will lose that feature.
    Jeff: I understand but if I do not upgrade it, and I transfer my upgrade to my son's 2GB line I don't lose it correct?
    Miranda: Yes.
    Jeff: Thank you! Have a great night!
    Miranda: You are welcome, is there anything else I can assist you with?
    Jeff: In one week the answer will be yes, but tonight it has to be not yet. I have to wait until 8/15 :)
     
    Unforgiven and AntimonyER like this.
  6. john248

    john248 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    107
    9
    56
    Would that work the other way around? Say if the 2GB plan had an upgrade available to just transfer to the unlimited.. would the unlimited plan still stay unlimited? Then again, I doubt it as anyone an on unlimited likely has an upgrade available.
     
  7. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Are you talking in store? I transferred the upgrade from one line to another and did that little swap-a-roo, and it only extended the contract date to the line the upgrade was transferred to. Now, I just did this a month ago. Can I transfer another upgrade to that line?
     
  8. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas

    Missed post 1455? :p
    I think the X will turn into the Fiancee and my Christmas present. Off contract, hopefully the dev community can do wonders with the locked bootloader between now and then.
     
  9. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,118
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,118
    47,122
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Well, I'm glad o be wrong on the upgrade.:)
     
  10. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Yep, sorry!

    You know, the Amiga computer in the early 90s was way ahead of its time. It had a series of chips (named, of course) that did dedicated tasks: Fat Agnus was the main processor, followed by Denise the graphics processor, Paula the sound processor, and some smaller, ancillary chips. The co-processors handled most of the dirty work, while the main processor kind of waited for something else to do. It allowed the Amiga to run rings around anything else out there. I was running multiple apps, in multiple windows, all simultaneously on the screen... and Windows 3.1 / 95 were playing catch-up for years.

    The only - ONLY - reason Amiga failed was because Commodore didn't market it correctly at all. And it was to their peril.

    I see the Moto X as the Amiga of smartphones. It does what other phones can't do, and won't do... and does it without the high-powered specs because of the X8 chipset assisting the S4 Pro main processor.

    Unlike Amiga, however, I think Google/Motorola are going to market this one correctly. Appeal to the mass market on what's in it for THEM, and they will throw money at it. It's brilliant, and I'm one in a sea of excited souls waiting for this device.

    My 0.02 :)
     
  11. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #71
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,625
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,625
    663
    253
    Male
    Fed
    So much this. I didn't expect that "always listening" tech to come for years, until battery tech developed to the point that it was able to handle it. Moto worked it from the other end and we have it today. Or well. The 20th/23rd :D
     
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,118
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,118
    47,122
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Chief, the X has one thing going for it the Amiga didn't. An existing, huge library of software. IIRC Amiga needed compatible apps as PC / Tandy / Apple weren't compatible at the time.
     
  13. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,060
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    You are correct: AmigaDos was a proprietary OS and software like Word Perfect, CorelDraw and others had to be specifically written for it. Google Play has hundreds of thousands of compatible apps for the X already... making it a no-brainer.

    :)
     
  14. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,118
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,118
    47,122
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
  15. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER CHANGED FROM AF ADDICT MIKESTONY
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    13,644
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    13,644
    8,004
    1,343
    Statesboro, GA
    EarlyMon likes this.
  16. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,118
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,118
    47,122
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    A Nexus device set the hardware standard for the platform while a GPE is just an off the shelf method of purchasing a device. Is it T-Mo that isn't going to sell the X directly? Here is where it can be had for them.

    And I'm not speaking from any position of knowledge, just speculating based no the rumor I linked.:rolleyes:
     
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The two GPE phones remove most but not all vendor add-ons and generally maintain the price points.

    From a software pov, the X acts like a GPE phone right out of the box and they've already said that it will be unlockable or have a dev edition, depending on species.

    I see no point in them offering an X GPE so I don't think that they will - unless I'm missing something. :dontknow:
     
  18. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,565
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,565
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    GPE phones are still closed source as well. The S4, for example, still has a lot of Touchwiz built in and Samsung doesn't release source.
     
  19. swantonbomboy

    swantonbomboy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    91
    23
    18
    Male
    Mechanical Design Engineer
    NJ
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The One GPE is the same way.
     
  21. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I heard rumors that an Xperia Z Google play phone might be on the way. I wonder if that one will be more open source since Sony seems to be more friendly to it than other OEM's are.
     
  22. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    Apparently they already confirmed they would have a GPE version of the X, maybe it will just be an unlockable bootloader for AT&T?
     
  23. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,583
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,583
    1,904
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Moto X Active Display Explained

     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I missed that was confirmed - still weird, unless it has to do with the international GSM market as well as hitting the note for ATT.

    Thought sure I'd read that the dev X would appear for VZW and ATT though - and that would be unlocked.

    It's a confusing day for me. :eek:
     
  25. landolakes

    landolakes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    89
    17
    18
    I really want this phone but after my DNA I don't want to live without wireless charging. Is it confirmed that it won't have it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...