1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support The MR2(leaked) update question?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chuck2530, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. chuck2530

    chuck2530 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    With the Mr2 leaked update it says it will wipe all data. Can someone tell me what exactly will be wiped clean during the update.

    Thanks
    Chuck2530
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Everything on your phone. You can download the apps again but not the saves
     
    chuck2530 likes this.
  3. chuck2530

    chuck2530 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    But everything on the SD card is safe right?
    Also if I wait for official release will it wipe the data on the phone too?

    Thx
    Chuck2530
     
  4. WA_Bob

    WA_Bob Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    799
    109
    103
    Male
    Forester
    West edge of the East Texas Piney Woods
    Your SD card is safe, just the phone memory gets wiped. And when there's an official update, they deploy it so it won't wipe your phone
     
    chuck2530 likes this.
  5. jj3699

    jj3699 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    424
    25
    43
    This is probably a special question since expected release dates are rarely correct but does anyone know an ETA for the official release of MR2?
     
  6. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN
    More than likely it will be included in the Gingerbread update that is rumored to be coming June 30th. I've been running MR2 leak for a couple weeks now....
     
  7. drewcam888

    drewcam888 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    does mr2 have the restart issues?
     
  8. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    No, for the most part mr2 fixed the issue..
     
  9. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    Is there anything else that makes worth it?
     
  10. Karuk

    Karuk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    374
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    374
    100
    68
    Tech Admin
    gps lock is fast. use to take 5-10 minutes for me.
     
    DILands likes this.
  11. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    Is there a how to anywhere on how to install it?
     
  12. chuck2530

    chuck2530 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    34
    1
    16
  13. jdk2

    jdk2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    230
    38
    43
    Male
    Celebration, FL
  14. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    I'm fed up with the reboots so I'm thinking of installing the mr2 update . Only I have a couple of questions. Since I'll loose all of my data, Will I Be able to use Backup Assistant to get my contacts back and will I be able to get all my apps back in the Market without having to pay for them again?
     
  15. chuck2530

    chuck2530 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    Once you pay for an app you dont have to pay again. I would get a backup off of the market. Then you should be good to go
     
  16. Brav

    Brav Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Auto Export
    Irvine, CA
    I just was about to DL this and do a manual update. I went to settings, software update, and check for updates, and it was available. I never got any notification by Verizon to do it. I would check first before downloading. Mine is currently "downloading firmware" on my phone.
     
  17. Pretkomel

    Pretkomel Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    230
    13
    58
    Atlanta, GA.
    Are you installing the one that is causing the reboot problem to many people?
     
  18. Brav

    Brav Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011

    Mar 20, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Auto Export
    Irvine, CA
    2.2.1 correct? well, I dont see the CDMA/LTE switch option.. so maybe i got the crap one.
     
  19. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    I turn my phone off, then I hold the power and the volume down buttons down and nothing happens. When I let off of them, it boots up normally. How long are you suppose to hold them down before the bootloader starts to run and it flashes the mr2?
     
  20. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    Hold the power and volume down button together until the bootloader screen comes up, about 5 or 10 seconds..
     
  21. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    I do that and nothing happens. When I let up off of them it just boots up normally.

    I finally figured it out. I had fast boot checked. As soon as I unchecked it, it worked.
    This version is a whole lot better. Besides not rebooting, it seems a lot faster on my
    TB.
     
  22. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    Make sure the screen turns off when you power down the device. i notice when the screen shuts off, the phone is technically still on since the backlight is on.

    or pull the battery and replace, and replace battery cover.
    then do power+vol down.
    it took me a couple tries for some reason AFTER i rooted the phone. so just keep trying. should say HBOOT and then something about searching for PG05IMG, followed by some error messages (totally normal)
     
  23. vnyislesv

    vnyislesv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    164
    9
    36
    I have my phone connected to my computer under "Disk drive"... and on my computer, opened as Removable Drive.

    As I search through the files, I don't see anything with "sd" to put the file in?
     
  24. Striker951

    Striker951 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    NE Ohio
    Do you see "Removable Disk" with a Drive letter?

    Thats it.
     
    vnyislesv likes this.
  25. chuck2530

    chuck2530 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    34
    1
    16
    I've always download the files straight to my phone. Then i use astro file finder to find the file. Once you do that you just move it from the download sub file to the main root of the SD card. Don't forget to rename it or it wont work. Power down your phone then power it on by the power button and volume down button at the same time. The rest is easy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...