1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root The new leaked OTA and data issues...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tek85, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. tek85

    tek85 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Hello all!

    Let me first start by saying I've been looking over the forums constantly over the past few weeks to absorb all the info I could before installing this. I'm a complete noob when it comes to anything Android, but after reading the forums so much I felt that I was ready to try this new leaked update with all the cool features. I'm still new with terminology and whatnot, so bear with me.

    Everything went fine, the new update rocks (WAY better signal, flashlight, 720p etc.). The only issue I'm having is sometimes my phone won't pick up my data network. I have to switch to Airplane Mode and back to get it to pick it up. Now initially, I was only getting the 1X, but updated my PRL from [7/2/10 PRL 51926m/65144m] Verizon VOICE ONLY NETWORK Popup Modified PRL FIX - PPCGeeks and everything is peachy. Once it picks it up though, it seems fine. Has anyone else encountered this issue?

    Also, with Wireless Tether 2.0.5, I can't seem to get anything but adhoc. I was under the impression that the new version could do something like an access point. With 2.0.2, I could connect. However with this 2.0.5 I can't even connect to it (which could be a software issue since it's experimental, this I understand). Just wondering if anyone had any input on these issues. I know before I updated I had to download some EVO files to enable tether, but from what I've read about the leak, it should be tether-ready.

    So if anyone has any input, it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Have you tried doing a *228 update just for kicks? Could be kicking from tower to tower.

    I just installed the Wireless Tether off the market (2.0.2), with the same android.tether folder that I used before. My computer connects as AdHoc and can access the net just fine. Not sure about a PS3/Xbox/iPad though, if they can connect to that or not.
     
    tek85 likes this.
  3. tek85

    tek85 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    Yeah, I'm missing the tether folder. I forgot I had switched SD cards....complete noob move lol. Thanks a bunch though!

    I did the *228 before I installed the hybrid PRL and it was actually doing the same thing. It's weird though, once it makes that established data connection it's 100% fine. If I reboot or anything that's when it has the issues. I can live with it, but I was just curious to see if anyone else had this issue and/or a remedy. Thanks again!
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    It could just be a network issue, like when the Incredible first came out there were some network stability issues which were worked out shortly after.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    So far, that's what everyone's seeing. Only 2.0.2 is working and it's adhoc only. Hopefully somebody will find a way to get AP working soon.
     
  6. opes

    opes Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    66
    4
    16
    Mine isnt seeing my sdcard.


    edit: its not seeing my internal. hmmmm?
     
  7. tek85

    tek85 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    16
    1
    16
    My phone did that previously before the leak (but was rooted). I just went from charge mode back to disk drive mode and it cleared that up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...