1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root The New MetroPcs OTA Marshmello Update File Realease

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by viperdink, May 14, 2016.

  1. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,089
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,089
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Since as everyone is in a hurry to update their O/S. , I snatched this to get all the Devs , Tweakers , Wackers
    a Head start in getting this one under Our belts. Hope it Helps .

    WARNING: Use this at your OWN risk. I accept NO Blame for Your misuse or Actions in any way.

    I wish you all good luck in your endeavers and Hope this Helps In some Way.

    The File can be Down loaded Here;

    https://www.mediafire.com/?9pkzph2qoo2d0ah

    Be nice to each other and help when ever possible.
    Viperdink
     

    Advertisement

    Krlypumaa and tube517 like this.
  2. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    can you tell if this version of the update is different from the tmobile ota? would there be a difference if we just used the method of updating with the tmobile version that we already had? besides the bloatware obviously...i mean i would rather wait for someone to make a flashable zip of this since i am on metro, but if it doesnt make a difference and if nobody makes a zip, does it really matter?
     
  3. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,089
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,089
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Its 6.0

    MetroPCS/g4stylusn_mpcs_us/g4stylusn:6.0/MRA58K/161201338a17f:user/release-keys
     
  4. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    to me it runs smooother then the tmobile version
     
    tube517 likes this.
  5. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    My wife and I both have MetroPCS phones.

    Mine is rooted. Hers unrooted/stock.

    I flashed the T-Mobile kdz and updated to MM...I do not have Advanced Text Messaging.

    I just update my wife's phone to MM last night and she has the Advanced Text Messaging....so far, this is the main difference I see. Also, I cannot change the shortcuts on my lockscreen...she can.
     
  6. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    Thanks Viper.....A user in XDA did a de-bloated T-Mobile MM "stock" ROM but I'm not sure if it is working. Still a long process even with the zip file.

    At least someone is trying....Seems like no active devs for a custom ROM for this phone.
     
    viperdink likes this.
  7. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    thats interesting
    cool thanks for the info...just waiting to make sure nobody runs into an issue trying to root it so i wont fear flashing back to stock and taking the update
     
  8. Bard

    Bard Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    794
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    794
    496
    123
    Male
    Programmer
    Fort Worth, TX
    The biggest issue for me with Metro Stylo + Tmo MM was Wifi issue. As some people experienced, I too had choppy Wifi connection so I had to use 4G wireless for internet surfing then eventually went back to Karana Rom.

    Its been only few hours but it seems like Wifi works much better on Metro MM imo.
     
    viperdink and tube517 like this.
  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    Bard, did you go back to stock and take the Metro MM OTA?
     
  10. Bard

    Bard Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    794
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011

    Oct 18, 2011
    794
    496
    123
    Male
    Programmer
    Fort Worth, TX
    tube517 likes this.
  11. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
  12. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    yes its rootable i used kingroot then flashify to flash recovery then su
     
    tube517 and mrrom like this.
  13. DB225

    DB225 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    143
    84
    53
    Male
    did you have to do the bootloader unlock first?
     
  14. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #87
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,089
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,089
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    #14 viperdink, May 14, 2016
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
    mrrom likes this.
  15. DB225

    DB225 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    143
    84
    53
    Male
    I've been trying the oem unlock. but it keeps telling me there is no fastboot internal or external command. It's driving me nuts.
     
  16. DB225

    DB225 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    143
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    143
    84
    53
    Male
    ok, I finally figured out what was going on. ADB was installing on my PC, but fastboot wasn't. I'm all good now.
     
    #16 DB225, May 15, 2016
    Last edited: May 15, 2016
    bkttk2 likes this.
  17. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    So, you did this on the Metro MM update?
     
  18. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
  19. jahunt78

    jahunt78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    236
    22
    38
    motorcycle mechanic, computer hobiest
    central florida
    kingroot fails to root mm on my device
     
  20. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,005
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,005
    2,036
    693
    Male
    USA
    Make sure you are using the real kingroot. Lots of fakes in the playstore
     
  21. jahunt78

    jahunt78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    236
    22
    38
    motorcycle mechanic, computer hobiest
    central florida
    i have the kingroot from them for the stylo that was linked here in another thread
     
    tube517 likes this.
  22. jahunt78

    jahunt78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    236
    22
    38
    motorcycle mechanic, computer hobiest
    central florida
    weird i think the 4th time the root took
     
    tube517 likes this.
  23. jahunt78

    jahunt78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    236
    22
    38
    motorcycle mechanic, computer hobiest
    central florida
    upon a manual rooboot i got a modified message and just boot loops there, so down grade again.
     
  24. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
  25. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    does it matter if i set the date/time while i was charging? i was at like 65% and figured i'd give it a shot but its saying its up to date...hopefully when i get to 90-100 something pops up...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...