1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support The (Possible) Main Issues and How They Can Be Fixed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daivik, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    Hi, my GSII is arriving on Monday.

    SO I just wanted to make a thread, about the possible issues that some of the GSII units are having, and whether they can be fixed, need to be "waited out", or a replacement is in order.

    I know of

    1) GPS issue - Most people say this seems to fix itself after a few days, IF the problem was even there in the first place.

    2) Jumpy signal - Does this actually impair usage of phone?

    3) Wifi signal - Some say their unit has very bad wifi signal? Is there a fix, or is a replacement in order, or does it appear to fix itself?

    4) Delays on wake up time. Fix? or Replacement?

    I know that out of the all the GSIIs sold only a minute portion will have these problems, but if mine has any of these, I would like to know what action to take as quickly as possible so I'll have a properly working, BEASTLY phone all the sooner.

    I know it may sound a bit picky, but I'm not expecting a 100% perfect phone, because it is more than made up for, when the device is properly working, because it's just such a beauty of a phone.

    Also I think if we can try to keep this thread on topic and "concise" (unlike what I have done in this first post :(), it'll be a good thread for new GSII users that won't have to read lengths and lengths post before the can find out what/if anything is wrong with their device.

    Add any solutions or issues. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. elektrobix

    elektrobix Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    98
    13
    18
    UK
    Random Rebooting seems to be one a few people are having. It's only happened to me twice so far and it doesn't seem to be a full reboot.

    One other problem i've had is when i leave the house the phone switches from wifi to data normally but when i get back it doesn't pick up wifi and the phones data doesn't work either. The only way i can fix it is by switching wifi off and back on. Don't have this problem with Hero and Milestone. I also find both wifi and 3g to be weaker than my other phones.
     
  3. loony

    loony Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    301
    86
    53
    australia
    5) heat issue.
    its suppose to get warm/hot....but too hot to hold is a throw back IMO. would be good to have a mesure, like if it goes over (example:)35 degree's...its a send back.
     
  4. wheelwright

    wheelwright Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    From my phone ownership......

    1) GPS issue - Most people say this seems to fix itself after a few days, IF the problem was even there in the first place. Not had that issue locks on in under a minute

    2) Jumpy signal - Does this actually impair usage of phone? You mean network signal? Put the phone on GSM only network

    3) Wifi signal - Some say their unit has very bad wifi signal? Is there a fix, or is a replacement in order, or does it appear to fix itself? Hopefully Samsung will address this issue as they do know about it

    4) Delays on wake up time. Fix? or Replacement? Not had that issue
     
  5. MISS DIVA

    MISS DIVA Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011

    Apr 17, 2011
    300
    90
    63
    Female
    West Sussex, UK
    The red spot when using the camera, I've got a Tmobile S2 and when I connect to Kies, there isn't an option to update firmware. Its states:

    PDA:KE3/PHONE:KD1/CSC:KE3(TMU) is the latest firmware.

    Miss Diva
     
  6. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    If the GPS issue us about how long it takes to get a lock, it could just be that the GPS is starting from cold, thus taking longer to connect, and people could be getting confused by the "unable to locate" message.

    Logically, if you get the message then hit the "my location" button again, then your restarting the GPS connection sequence, and losing any progress on the connection.

    Try pressing my location once and waiting a few minutes, ignoring the unable to locate message, this may get you a lock faster from a cold start, just guessing though.
     
  7. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    Yes, miss diva, we're at a loss. Every single update, even small ones have to go through T-Mobile first. And the chances are, are that T-Mobile won't even bother with half of them. ;(
     
  8. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    That might not be 100% accurate. You might be able download official firmwares and flash them through odin, if you know where to go that is ;)
     
  9. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68

    Flashing is the same as rooting??
     
  10. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    Not at all

    When you get an update through kies, or over the air, the update is downloaded and 'flashed' to your phone, 'installed' may be a better word if you like.

    Using odin does the same thing, just you have to find the firmware to flash into your phone. It takes a little know how, but it's easy to learn.

    Rooting can also be done using odin, just you install a different file, as oppose to the original firmware. Once rooted, you have access to a recovery screen on boot, by way of a combination of buttons (same as accessing download mode) where you can install other mods/firmwares/kernels designed to run on your phone.
     
  11. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    So I'm not gonna root because I really don't want to jeopardise my warranty (because it's really good - next day swap out at my door). But I can use odin to install the updated firmware?? (This won't have T-Mobile bloatware on it will it??)

    And what would this do to my warranty situation??

    And what about my settings/data/apps data?? Will that be lost if I flash a new firmware??

    Thanks for the help btw :)
     
  12. daz_2000

    daz_2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    323
    44
    43
    London, UK
    Can't believe no one has mentioned battery life.
     
  13. YesItsMeKathy

    YesItsMeKathy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    I mentioned it in another thread. My phone only lasts for 3-4 hours when playing games and so Im hoping the new firmware will fix that, which btw, has been released but not for everyone. :mad:
     
  14. daz_2000

    daz_2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    323
    44
    43
    London, UK
    I have ke7 already. Battery life won't improve until 2.3.4 is released.
     
  15. YesItsMeKathy

    YesItsMeKathy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    I seem to have KE2 on my phone. Are there any other versions in between the 2 and the 7, or does it just jump to KE7 with the update? Im asking because Kies is not informing me of any updates.

    Also, I heard that 2.3.4 has been released, it just doesn't seem to be available for all users.
     
  16. daz_2000

    daz_2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    323
    44
    43
    London, UK
    I think it goes straight to 7. I'm not aware that 2.3.4 has been released for this phone.
     
  17. vengance007

    vengance007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    110
    11
    38
    LONDON
    2.3.4 hasent been released yet :-/. if it was i will be there in a flaaaaaaaaaash :D.

    heat issue is a MASSIVE issue everyone has and i dont know how a software update will solve it?? heres to hoping eh :p.

    the best way to get rid of bloatware is to root ur phone and download bloat freezer from the app market (what a god send). After freezing sooo many unused pre installed apps i can see my battery life has improved :p. however i have froze a lot and that includes the touchwiz launcher and everything associated with it.
     
  18. YesItsMeKathy

    YesItsMeKathy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    16
    0
    15
    Daz, ok good! I was already getting worried that I was using an an ancient firmware...

    I read about 2.3.4 being released, but I never checked if it was for this phone, lol.

    Vengance, doesn't rooting a phone mean that insurance won't work anymore?

    How long can you guys play games without the battery dying?
     
  19. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    Guys, I don't think (please do correct if I'm wrong) but isn't the poor battery life due to the fact Android 2.3.4 isn't optimised for dual core phones yet. hence 2.3.4 should resolve this?
     
  20. daz_2000

    daz_2000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    323
    44
    43
    London, UK

    That's what I've heard and certainly hope so. Otherwise 3 chargers is the way to go!
     
  21. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    Yeah! To be honest, so long as it lasts me a day, I'm happy. Although the official battery extender looks pretty good for when I need it for a weekend or something.

    Yes
     
  22. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,151
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,151
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    my battery lasts a day so damn sight better than my Desire HD that lasted 10 hrs if I was lucky.

    I did replace my SGS2 having had a day 1 phone that started restarting 2/3 times per day. Picked up new one last week and its been pretty much perfect.
    Its running 2.3.3 ke7.
     
  23. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    cheers. :) Mines coming on Monday after T-Mobile only got them in on Friday. So hopefully, mine won't have the that issue - which I'm guessing was something to do with the firmware they put on it at the factory or the hardware the "put together" at Samsung's factory.
     
  24. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,151
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,151
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    the faulty phone was also running the latest f/w (I'd installed it through kies) ...
     
  25. daivik

    daivik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    515
    44
    68
    mehh. Oh well. Just have to wait and see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...