1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support The Pre-Installed Navigational System.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ludlum, May 14, 2011.

  1. ludlum

    ludlum Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    94
    6
    36
    Musician
    Ireland
    One of the features I like about this phone is its pre-installed Google Navigational System.

    However, unlike my regular Sat-Nav [a Garmin] I can't seem to store my present location as "Home" or input a proper address; 15 Huntsville Drive, Dublin 4, for example [This is a made up address, btw:) ]

    Does anyone know how this is done, or is it even possible?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. KING LUFF

    KING LUFF Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    214
    29
    43
    Hi,

    The way I do it is create a shortcut on one of the home screens and just call it home. That way you only have to click on a single icon and don't even have to open maps at all.
     
  3. ludlum

    ludlum Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    94
    6
    36
    Musician
    Ireland
    Thank, but I am not sure how it will help. A short-cut will take me to the navigational maps, for sure....but how will this help me set my home address?:)

    Thanks again.
     
  4. jimlad

    jimlad Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    132
    6
    36
    i just add my address under me as a google contact and choose that
     
  5. ludlum

    ludlum Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    94
    6
    36
    Musician
    Ireland
    Thanks. That is a good idea and I tried it, but unfortunately it doesn't work in my case. I guess it's because I live out in the countryside here in Southern Ireland and my address is not currently recognised by Google Navigation. It tells me my location can't be found.

    I am not sure why this should happen because when I look at the map the arrow shows the name of my area.:thinking:
     
  6. KING LUFF

    KING LUFF Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    214
    29
    43
    If you long press, add shortcuts, direction and navigation, add address.

    Job done
     
  7. ludlum

    ludlum Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    94
    6
    36
    Musician
    Ireland
    Thanks for this but I cannot see anywhere were it says short cut. Sorry, must be a slow day for me:)
     
  8. lilo

    lilo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    60
    2
    16
    This is how you add shortcuts in TouchWiz. When at the home screen, press the screen where it's free from icons and hold it. The phone will pop up a menu that has a number o options including one for shortcut.
     
  9. ludlum

    ludlum Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    94
    6
    36
    Musician
    Ireland
    Sorted! Thanks a million:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...