1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support The process com.htc.bg has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again...wtf

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by absolutebica, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. absolutebica

    absolutebica Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    Ever since upgrading to 2.1v2, I get this message probably every hour. Sometimes it comes up on its own, sometimes when I am opening applications, etc...

    Anyone else get this with the 2.1v2 leak?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    I can't find anything on com.htc.bg. You said it is happening every hour? How often is your weather widget set to update?
     
  3. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    yes, I get it too. Turn off Facebook sync and it should stop. That's the only workaround I've found. Not sure what's causing it.
     
    kesterklan likes this.
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Lemme guess... Facebook sync?
     
  5. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    Funny. I meant I'm not sure why Facebook sync is causing the force close. but you already knew that, didn't you?
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    You want to keep Facebook sync and you're upset.

    But you already knew that, didn't you?
     
  7. absolutebica

    absolutebica Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I dont use facebook nor have i set it up on this phone. How do i turn off the sync
     
  8. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    this has happened but what's the big deal using facebook sync?
     
  9. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Mandirae16 posted this very same problem in another thread and the solution there seemed to be that she (and others) run Spare Parts in aggressive mode and it causes this to happen. Are you running Spare Parts?
     
  10. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    hmm... that's a good question then. For me, turning off Facebook sync stopped me from getting the error. Menu<settings<accounts and sync<choose Facebook and uncheck sync contacts. If you don't have Facebook it might be one of the other accounts that sync.
     
    MizzSHill likes this.
  11. absolutebica

    absolutebica Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    N

    No
     
  12. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Well, so much for that being the issue. Maybe it is the Facebook thing...thankfully I haven't dealt with such an annoying error.
     
  13. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    I'm not upset at all, actually. Is that your goal? I'm just trying to help someone out with a question that deals with something I've experienced.
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Great question, about goals here.

    I'm here to try to pick up more knowledge about Android in general, that's why I read in all the different phone forums at this site even though the only Android phone I have is an Eris.

    Plus I kid around a lot, but that's not a "goal" here. If somebody gets upset, and you did, then that is also outside of any goal oriented motive I have here; getting people upset seems to be a natural consequence of hitting certain sensitive areas they have, most often by accident. Some here do that, or attempt to do that, quite intentionally, though, it appears.
     
  15. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    You've gotta love internet forums. It's so easy for these communication break downs to occur. I'm trying to figure out how you decided I was getting upset. In my first reply to your "kidding around", I included a smiley face so as to let you know I understood your joke and I commented by saying "funny", (also written lol, haha, etc.) Maybe I should have included a few more smiley faces or maybe I chose the wrong type of smiley icon, who knows? I'll try to be more clear next time.

    The fact is, I've been lurking around this forum for a while now and I have read many of your posts, as well as many of the other "regulars" posts. I have no problems at all with your sense of humor, and I am pretty sure you haven't hit any "sensitive area" that I have.
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    lmao .. well, it's Easter.

    Happy Easter to all who celebrate that.

    Eggs. Ham. Bunnies. Peeps. Church (oh the horrors).
     
  17. absolutebica

    absolutebica Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    well I got the message to stop coming up.

    I think it was either related to Twitter trying to sync, or the Sense UI. I disabled Twitter from syncing up Peeps, and I turned on HOME versus Sense UI.
     
  18. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    I'm also getting this error com.htc.bg. Googled it and sent me right back here. I did a search on the boards and nothing. I'll try turning off twitter as I don't use it and check out the spare parts thing.
     
    37325 likes this.
  19. absolutebica

    absolutebica Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    yea try the twitter thing first. I know for a fact that was the culprit for me..because right when I turned it on...whether it would go out to receive updates..it would fire and force close. Disabled, and I don't get it since.
     
  20. HTClegend

    HTClegend Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I am having the same problem. I get the com.htc.bg force close error aswell. I have found out that the Facebook friend/contact sync is causing the error. Everytime I try to sync the facebook contactlist I get the error. So I cant get my contacts to sync up with my facebook friends.. Really annoying.

    I only get the error when I try to sync facebook contacts. It would be very nice if someone got a clue of what to do

    If it matter, I'm using an HTC legend.. brand new.. no other apps installed..
     
  21. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Okay, my girlfriend has just got the HTC Desire for herself and 1 for me, she is getting the error message all the time and cannot link her contacts to Facebook however I can.

    I logged into my account on her phone and was able to sync my contacts fine. Tried this on my phone with her account, guess what, ERROR MESSAGE!

    So basically this means there is absolutely nothing wrong with her phone, it is something to do with her Facebook account.

    Can not be anything to do with privacy settings on Facebook because my account is locked down, the same as hers. Only difference is my Facebook account is registered to my Hotmail email address, hers is Googlemail.

    Going to change her email address and see if this fixes. Will post update.


    UPDATE!!! :-

    Okay, changed email address assign to her Facebook account, still got the error message and could not sync contacts.

    However (and a lot of you are not going to like this), created a new Facebook account with her Googlemail address as a test, added me then synced with her phone. worked perfectly fine and synced my Facebook with my contact card on her phone.

    FIX!!! :-

    We have found the fix! go to the PEOPLE(contact list) app. Go to the Online Directories (globe) tab. Hit Facebook. You will be asked to log in to your Facebook account. Once logged in, it will show all of you contacts on your Facebook account. Go back to the full list of your contacts on the phone and try and sync.
     
    Its_Red likes this.
  22. MarManHollow

    MarManHollow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    The fix helped me to get the FB contacts into the phone (did not work before) but I do still get that Damn annoying error message :(
     
  23. hocturnalsoul

    hocturnalsoul Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    104
    16
    38
    IT Analyst
    Gloucestershire
    Not sure how to help I'm afraid. Has anyone contacted HTC and asked for the fix?
     
  24. andbakk

    andbakk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    14
    2
    16
    Use the setup program (the one that you got the first time you started the phone), go through it until you reach the facebook opions. Log out, and log in again. Worked fine for me :D
     
  25. delvec03

    delvec03 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    I'm getting this problem too. I logged in with someone else's facebook account and it synced...would really like to Not create another facebook account...I've tried reflashes, log ins and outs..the whole gammot!

    h31p?
     

Share This Page

Loading...