1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

The Rogers Magic 2.1 Thread

Discussion in 'Rogers' started by mjschmidt, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    122
    4
    56
    Male
    I don't plan on changing my ROM anytime soon because I still am under my extended warranty, but I would still like to know.

    And they had computers when I was a kid, just we never had one just because my parents weren't in to them. I didn't get internet until I was like 17 but they had it probably since I was 5-6 (Dialup in the 90s?)
     

    Advertisement

  2. vikingisson

    vikingisson Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Well you can find lots of reference around here but when Rogers pushed a mandatory update they started cutting off data service to phones that they felt hadn't updated. Problem is that some of us had already updated with perfectly fine roms but since they weren't official we were cut anyway. That is still an ongoing problem that limits our choices somewhat. Lesson for me is to never get a contract phone so I'm not part of these issues. Irony is that I don't use my contract phone but they scan me since I used to be on contract.
     
  3. jscrimshaw

    jscrimshaw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    43
    1
    16
    Hotel Night Auditor
    London, Ontario. Canada
    Sounds like a load of horse poop to me... Why would Rogers need the approval of Google before the rom is released.. The HTC Magic is not a "Google Experience" phone. It sounds like a cover up to me.. I think the reason why its going to take this long is because Rogers need to make sure their bloatware works as well as make sure that the device can't be rooted.. Of course, Rogers is not going to tell you this, they'll make up excuses like every other time or not say anything at all.. I have lost faith with Roger because of all the lies and excuses. I would cancel my wireless but I cant afford the early termination fees but as soon as I can, I'm going with another provider
     
    bunhead likes this.
  4. bunhead

    bunhead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    74
    1
    16
    Computer geek
    I have already kicked rogers to the curb for my television and Internet service. I am under contract with them until July 2012. Kicking rogers to the curb for my cellphone will be my 40th birthday present to myself :D
     
  5. wjsturgis3

    wjsturgis3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    1
    6
    Newport News, VA, USA
    mgp187: "So that sound isn't made when the phone it booted, but when the SD Card is put in and played if the SD Card is on at boot?

    Yes, when it is mounted during the boot process.
     
  6. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Maps, Navigation, Market, Search and probably a few other are all proprietary Google apps and not part of AOSP. So yes Google does have a vested interest in making sure that the way that their proprietary code has been implemented in the new ROM is to their satisfaction.
     
  7. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    122
    4
    56
    Male
    I am looking into getting a bigger MicroSD card for my phone, is there a limit on the size of cards it'll take? What's the biggest card i can put into this phone?
     
  8. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    16Gb is the max size that the Rogers Magic will take. The fastest card that it will also make use of is a Class 6, any faster and you're just waisting your money.

    gbd
     
  9. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    122
    4
    56
    Male
    Ok so I can use 16 GB. 32 Won't work?

    If I get something higher than a class 6 (say if that's all they have or if for some reason it is the same price) will it still work, just at a slower speed or not at all? if it still works then that might be a little bit of a waste, but if it doesn't work at all then that will be a really big waste.

    Is 16 GB the limit for all HTC Magics or just the Rogers one?
     
  10. bunhead

    bunhead Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    74
    1
    16
    Computer geek
    Yes the memory cards that are faster than class 6 will still work, they will just operate at class 6 speed. Also I believe that the 16 GB max is for both the G1 (Dream) and the Magic across all carriers, it is a true hardware limitation - unlike the "hardware limitation" rogers has slapped on the Dream saying that android 1.5 is the highest it can support. :)
     
  11. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    122
    4
    56
    Male
    So a software update won't enable 32 GB :(

    Weird though because 16 GB SD 2.0/SDHC, isn't 32 GB also the same? It's not under a new specification is it?
     
  12. Akkuzo

    Akkuzo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    105
    6
    36
    From RogersMary's twitter account in response to a questions about rumors that the 2.1 update's been cancelled:

    "Thks for sharing that link. I was surprised to see that rumour but it's not the case. I should have an update early next wk."
     
  13. Ceiling_Fan

    Ceiling_Fan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I just spoke with a Rogers Rep today, he confirmed next Wednesday (8th September) as the release date for the HTC Magic+ 2.1 ROM. Google Navigation finally!
     
  14. KyleB

    KyleB Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    102
    10
    38
    Manager, Financial Services
    Toronto, Ontario
    Good news, hope it's true!
    Hopefully RogersMary can confirm on Tuesday.
     
  15. thor124

    thor124 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    59
    5
    16
    That's good news for those who haven't already rooted and upgraded to 2.2....

    I'm interested to see how bloated the Rogers ROM is. With all the time they've spent on it, when released it better damn well be perfect and bug free (with that month of testing Rogers did there's no excuses).
     
  16. Jag

    Jag Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    Haha, if they had released this news a week ago I probably would have waited instead of rooting and upgrading to 2.2. Definitely not going to downgrade my phone to 2.1. Plus, the Rogers ROMs are just so slow and clunky.

    For example, on my 2.2 CM6 Magic right now I have about 50MB of memory left, and I can kill some apps with TasKiller that would bring it up to about 60MB. However, it still runs so fast, quick and snappy. With the Rogers 1.5 ROM I remember that if I got anywhere close to or under 60MB of free memory, everything would just drag along. Handcent SMS would have a delay in the popup and even sliding to different screens would get clunky at times. It's probably going to be more of the same with this new Rogers 2.1 ROM.

    I just hope that they don't have some kinda new update in the radio or something that forces all Rogers users to go to 2.1. I would not be pleased.
     
  17. MidnightWatcher

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Hey Jag, what procedure did you use to upgrade to 2.2 CM6? I've got Androot installed on my 1.5 post 911 Magic+ and think I'll go to CM6 myself since it'll be overall better than the upcoming 2.1 from Rogers. I was thinking about going to 2.1 just to try it out, but am worried that Androot won't work with it.
     
  18. Jag

    Jag Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    I used the method/script created by GreatBigDog. That's his username here on the forums.

    The script, and all the files needed can be found here: CLICK ME!

    If you're using Windows XP it should work. I'm using Windows 7 and at first the script wasn't working for me, but GreatBigDog (GBD) fixed some stuff in it and it started to work for me. Part way through it though a problem arose, but luckily for me GBD is a nice guy and he helped me through it. The ROM in the package is called CyanogenMod 6.0. It's a custom made ROM that's running on Android 2.2 (Froyo). It's amazing.

    If you do run into problems with the script, like with the RootMe.bat file that comes in the package in the link, don't worry too much. You can always talk to GBD for help, plus there is a Procedure.txt file in the package you will downloaded. That .txt file has a detailed, step by step procedure for you, telling you what you need to do. Essentially, you can follow that Procedure.txt file manually and do the rooting to Android 2.2 yourself, but the RootMe.bat file (the script) does that all for you. Again, only do it manually if for some reason the RootMe.bat file doesn't work.
     
  19. MidnightWatcher

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    Thanks Jag, I'll give it a look!
     
  20. RogersMary

    RogersMary Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    71
    12
    18
    I'll have an update for you on Wednesday morning.
    .... I'll be back!
     
  21. man_alone

    man_alone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    7
    2
    6
    Square One City
    Will you have the actual 2.1 Android update or just another update about update for HTC Magic that should have been updated a long time ago? I think if it's the latter and is going to be about another 'unexpected' delay, a lot of Rogers Magic owners will be beyond upset.
     
    thor124 likes this.
  22. thewhitewizard

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    32
    3
    16
    office admin.
    Toronto, Canada
    I seriously hope that tomorow is the rollout. I've been oh so tempted to pull the trigger and try to root using GBD's method. Being a total noob tho, there is a risk of my screwin the pooch somewhere along the way and either having a shiney paperweight or have my radio trigger a rogers data block, neither of which i find exciting.

    YET

    - i am tired of running into apps i find that are not supported by 1.5. (Salon.com, google nav, RockPlayerBase, etc...)
    - i am tired of my Bluetooth media connection to my car stereo sucking ass with its stutters, stops, lags, speed up, slow down, pitch tempo changes
    - i am jealous at seeing all these beautiful custom implements out in the wild with their own awesome themes etc..


    basically, this is sort of the point of no return. im weighing the option of screwing up my phone vs. having to wait 'x' amount of time longer to have the phone do what it was intended to do.

    maybe ill just find a used magic online and use it for a testrun for modding. if it works, id cell my current phone and hold that money until a true vanilla 3.0 phone came out with Google OTA updates.

    PLEASE PLEASE let it be tomorow.
     
  23. Zeroexe43

    Zeroexe43 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    8
    1
    6
    Dont upgrade everything is crashing and it wont boot up
     
  24. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009

    Jun 27, 2009
    1,268
    113
    153
    Male
    In my house.
    A few people are reporting issues updating, but are doing a hard reset of the phone and trying the update.

    So far most people are reporting success.

    What specific problems are you having? Is it crashing during the update, or after the update?
     
  25. Silvertag

    Silvertag Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    189
    19
    38
    Montreal
    Here's the manual update for those who have problem with OTA.

    Rogers
     

Share This Page

Loading...